Help with rudolph's 3-in-1 tool

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by haruk, Jun 16, 2007.

Jun 16, 2007

Help with rudolph's 3-in-1 tool by haruk at 4:34 PM (1,267 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. haruk
    OP

    Newcomer haruk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Hi everyone, lately I've been having a problem with Rudolph's 3-in-1 exppack tool. When I go to save a game, then load up another game, I lose the first games save.
    For example:
    I save Game A
    Load up Game B
    Save Game B
    Now I lose my save for Game A!

    If it matters, I'm trying to load it up through PSRAM.
    It's really annoying:( I spent 4 hours on megaman battle network, then lost it. :'(

    edit: and yes, I patched it with the EZ4 client.
     
  2. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    in the PSRAM menu, you need to press (B). "Backup data in SRAM into SAV file" before loading a second game
     
  3. haruk
    OP

    Newcomer haruk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried that a couple times, and still doesn't seem to work, is there anything I'm supposed to do when reloading the game?
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    What slot 1 cart are you using?
    Edit: I just realised you posted this in the R4 forum, so it's probably the R4. If not, please specify.

    Does the 3in1 tool give you an error saying that the save will be lost?

    Are the .sav files actually being written to the \GBA\Save folder on the slot 1 cart's memory?

    You did create the \GBA\Save folder, right? The 3in1 tool won't do it for you.

    You aren't also using GBALdr, are you? It will write over the area of SRAM that the 3in1 tool uses to store game information. If that happens, the 3in1 tool will think that there is no save to back up.


    No you don't. The 3in1 tool should back up the save automatically every time you start a different game in PSRAM mode, or flash a different game to NOR.
     
  5. haruk
    OP

    Newcomer haruk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Nope

    I actually used to have no problem running this, and I believe that the saves also got reloaded correctly when I switched games.

    I'm gonna try reformatting my card to see if that helps, if not, I'm thinking it's maybe a defective 3-in1

    edit:: Just reformatted and put it back on, and still having the same problem [​IMG]
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If you play a game from NOR, turn the DS off for a while (at least a few minutes), then play the same game again without going into the 3in1 tool, is your save still there?

    If you play the same game from PSRAM twice in a row, is the save still there the second time?

    One other thing to try: Play a game from PSRAM, and save. Turn the DS off then back on again as quickly as possible, then start a different game and save in it. Then load the first game again and see if the save is still there.
     
  7. haruk
    OP

    Newcomer haruk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    1) Yep

    2) Yep

    3) Nope
     
  8. bfoos

    Member bfoos GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Country:
    United States
    Don't feel bad. Saving when playing games from PSRAM has never worked right for me either. I just stick with NOR now and have no issues.
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It would seem that the SRAM and the battery are working, but the 3in1 tool is failing to either write or read the save file properly.

    If you have a hex editor, look at the save files and see if there is any data in them.

    You could also try testing with GBALdr. If GBALdr can read and write the saves without problems, then it's a software issue with the 3in1 tool. If GBALdr also fails, the problem is probably the R4 or the microSD card.
     
  10. haruk
    OP

    Newcomer haruk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    I just did some more testing, it seems to be a problem with PSRAM as bfoos said.
    I can switch games around fine when using NOR, also, if I save a game on PSRAM, load another game up with NOR, save it. then load the Game I saved on PSRAM it works fine.
    So, I'm not sure, I'm thinking it's my 3in1 itself, because this used to work fine....
     

Share This Page