Help With Lameboy DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by ndsmaster, Jul 31, 2008.

Jul 31, 2008

Help With Lameboy DS by ndsmaster at 12:08 AM (16,796 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. ndsmaster
    OP

    Newcomer ndsmaster Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    when i start up lameboy DS all i see is a black screen. can someone tell my why this is happening.
     


  2. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Did you copy your ROMs to a folder called "lameboy" at root of your card?
    Did you DLDI patch the lameboy itself?
    Whcih flashcart you have.
     
  3. ndsmaster
    OP

    Newcomer ndsmaster Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States

    when i downloaded the file it didnt have a folder called lameboy... or do i create a folder called lameboy.
    no i did not patch it
    R4
     
  4. Japhle

    Member Japhle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    You're supposed to place Gameboy roms in the folder you create called Lameboy, but If I recall correctly, it doesn't require you to place the roms in a folder and lets you pick a folder if there isn't a directory called lameboy, that being said it's probably something to do with dldi Patching or something or other.
    Edit:Gameboy color roms obviously work as well.
     
  5. ndsmaster
    OP

    Newcomer ndsmaster Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    When i turn on my ds i see a folder called lameboy and when i open it there are no games on it. i try to put games in the folder with my computer but when i look at the memory card with the computer i can't find the folder called lameboy.
     
  6. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Its what I do:
    I put the lameboy.nds file on root of my memory card, then I create a folder called Lameboy on root of my memory card and then I copy all the GB/GBC ROMs that I want to play into that folder (which have extensions of .gb and gbc, respectively).

    Then I put my memory card into my flash cart (which in my case is DSTT) and then power on my DS and browse to Lameboy.nds and run it.

    When the Lameboy runs, it will show ROMs I copied into Lameboy folder and then selecting one with "A" key and thats all.
     
  7. ndsmaster
    OP

    Newcomer ndsmaster Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    still doesn't work for me...
     
  8. OMGKenny

    Newcomer OMGKenny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    wtf is lameboy i heard of it but never knew what it was.
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
  10. MasterPenguin

    Member MasterPenguin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    Canada
    I put Lameboy & all the roms in a folder called GBC. Works perfectly. [When Lameboy runs, it lets you select where the rom folder is..]
     
  11. Brainy142

    Member Brainy142 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Canada
    Try booting with FCOS or Ds organize
     
  12. Dhaos_Niko

    Newcomer Dhaos_Niko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Italy
    A simple, fast question: does anybody know if there will be another version of lameboy? i still have issues with Lufia The Legend Returns, mainly audio lags.
     
  13. BRYAN G. O

    Newcomer BRYAN G. O Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I DONT GET IT WHEN EVER I GO ON MY LAMEBOY IT NEVER SAYS THE GAME I WANT TO PLAY

    (POKEMON FIRE RED AND POKEMON SAPIRE)
     
  14. themando

    Newcomer themando Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Lameboy (or any slot-1 software without the aid of a slot-2 cart, for that matter) can't play GBA roms.
     
  15. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    You have to use R4 to play GBA roms.
     
  16. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Excuse me while I go bang my head on my desk.
     
  17. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    why? R4 runs all GBA games, even on SLOT-2.
    am I roang?
     
  18. Skinnix

    Newcomer Skinnix Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    You wrote that you MUST use R4 for playing GBA games.
    This is wrong. You can play GBA roms on (almost?) every slot-2-flashcard
    and on most slot-1-flashcards with a slot-2-eypansion.
    And R4 cannot run GBA roms without a slot-2-expansion pack.
     
  19. jy2

    Newcomer jy2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you'll find test84 was being sarcastic [​IMG] I thought it was funny, anyway!

    As for Lameboy; just dump the roms in a folder and you should be good to go. Perhaps redownload the binary? Or patch again as suggested
     
  20. TornZero

    Member TornZero GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    No. I didn't need to put them in a folder for it to work. If it didn't work, his options are to re-download the .nds file or patch it with the r4tf.dldi and dlditool.

    For ndsmaster:
    http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/ is the site.
    1) Download DLDItool and extract it to a new folder (We'll call it "Patching" for now).
    2) Download the DLDI that is in the same column as your flashcart and save it to the same folder as DLDItool. The R4 has this one.
    3) Put the .nds file you want (LameBoy, in this case) in the same folder as well.
    4) Run DLDItool and the R4 DLDI should be automatically selected in the first spot. In the second column, select the LameBoy (Put in the same folder for convenience).
    5) Put the LameBoy.nds anywhere in your TF card (preferably the root directory).
    6) Put your GB + GBC ROMs in a directory of their own (We'll call it "GB+GBC") for convenience.
    7) Start up the LameBoy from your R4's Games menu.
    8) Have fun.
     

Share This Page