Help with jEnesis Rom

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by sarah3585, Jun 23, 2008.

Jun 23, 2008

Help with jEnesis Rom by sarah3585 at 7:43 PM (3,112 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. sarah3585
    OP

    Newcomer sarah3585 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have jEnesis installed and a few ROMS that download as a .bin file but when I unzip they are .bin.cpgz. Is that right?
    Anyway when I copy them onto my acekard the file name appears but nothing loads.
     
  2. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    have you tried removing the .cpgz extension ??
     
  3. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Do not extract BIN files.
     
  4. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    good point ... I missed that and read it as when extracted assumed from a zip/rar file [​IMG]
     
  5. sarah3585
    OP

    Newcomer sarah3585 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So it is suppose to read .bin files? They look like they want extracting.
     
  6. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    I'm betting WinRAR/7Zip or whatever you use automatically associated itself with BIN files which gave them its icon.
     
  7. sarah3585
    OP

    Newcomer sarah3585 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah. I'm on a mac and wants to use Archive Utility to extract.
     
  8. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    It's supposed to read .bin files.
     
  9. sarah3585
    OP

    Newcomer sarah3585 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for confirming that. I can't seem to get any sonic game running I just get a black screen. I did get streets of rage working.
     
  10. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    If you feel an impulse to extract the bin files, you can rename them to SMD or GEN (Sega Genesis rom formats) and they'll still run fine on JenesisDS. I do it because bin files have other uses besides roms and it sometimes confuses me as to what files they are. [​IMG]
     
  11. xstre pwnsx

    Newcomer xstre pwnsx Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    what luck i found this thread i was having the same problem.


    i am the master of mario kart decals halo mods cod3 glitchs and runescape!!!!
     

Share This Page