help with gc backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by trance, Feb 15, 2010.

Feb 15, 2010

help with gc backups by trance at 7:22 AM (1,626 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. trance
    OP

    Member trance GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Southern Hemisphere
    Country:
    Australia
    currently raging at the wii over how i can get gamecube backups to read.
    at the moment i have cmiosv10 installed through waninkoko's cmios installer rev5, with 0.2 of gamecube backup launcher installed as a channel. i tried cmiosv4 before with the 0.1xi gcbl, but no luck.
    with the gcbl apps, i'm getting some stupid disc error: "failed to read dvd 263, error 0x3023a00 no disk". i'm sure that i burnt the disc properly (verbatim dvd-r, burnt at 4x) using an gc iso i dumped from one of my own discs (pokemon channel, id GPAU). i saw a post by wiigator about this, but i don't understand what could be wrong with the disc.
     
  2. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  3. trance
    OP

    Member trance GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Southern Hemisphere
    Country:
    Australia
    no luck with that either, same error message.
     
  4. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Your not on cios249 rev15 or 16 now are you ?
    Have you tried Neogamma to load your gc dvd?
     
  5. trance
    OP

    Member trance GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Southern Hemisphere
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah, i know rev15~16 don't work properly, i have cios249 rev14 installed.
    trying neogamma, i get "dvd read error (1101)". it's looking awfully like i have one of those d3-2, didn't even know about those suckers until recently.
    it kinda makes sense that it may have one since this wii is a replacement (with serial LAH118x) from my first (defective) wii that arrived in december.
     
  6. harmor

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    What I would do is burn a movie and see if it plays in a DVD player.
    Then install DVDx and Mplayer CE and see if it plays in your Wii.
     
  7. trance
    OP

    Member trance GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Southern Hemisphere
    Country:
    Australia
    huh, didn't try that. both of the dvdx packages (DVDX, DISC) are installed, but mplayerce will not boot. or rather, mplayerce has not booted since i manually updated ios61 to get into shop channel. is this a problem if hbc uses ios61?
     
  8. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Does it play original GC games?
     
  9. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    did you say error 1101?
    have you played any backup from the start?

    i think you have a d3-2.
     
  10. trance
    OP

    Member trance GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Southern Hemisphere
    Country:
    Australia
    original gc? yes, they play.
    i've not played any backups ever. i'm looking into usb crap now, since it looks too much like a d3-2.
     
  11. wes11ph

    Member wes11ph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    yeah cause error 1101 is a sign of d3-2
     
  12. trance
    OP

    Member trance GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Southern Hemisphere
    Country:
    Australia
    so hey, i'm screwed for gc loading, huh?
     
  13. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    If you really have a D3-2 drive, then yes

    Have you gone to wiidrives.com to see the chance that you have a D3-2 drive?
     
  14. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
  15. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    LAH118xxxxxx?

    You definetely have a D3-2 drive. They started appearing in AU Wiis with S/N LAH1162xxxxx and onwards.
    Meaning no burned discs whatsoever...
    If you want to play backup GC games, you'll have to switch the DVD drive with a different one.
     

Share This Page