1. Menacie

    OP Menacie Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Right here's the scenario, I've installed a Xeno GC modchip on my Gamecube and it works fine, as I tested Prince of Persia: Warrior Within out and it worked fine, no DRE's, nothing.

    Now, I try making back ups with Verbatim Mini DVD-RW, Verbatim DVD-R, and DataWrite DVD-R and Tesco DVD+R.
    I've wasted around 15 discs and no backups work, I've tried all sorts of programs like IMGBurn, Nero, CloneDVD, Alcohol 120% etc.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,602
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes, i had EXACT same problem and my gamecube would ONLY, and i stress ONLY read ritek G4s. These are available off ebay.
     
  3. Menacie

    OP Menacie Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Poop, shame I don't use eBay. [​IMG]
     
  4. legendofphil

    legendofphil Phil no Densetsu
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    Mine is like that, so I bought a full sized lid and full sized ritek G04, its much cheaper.

    EDIT: and only use IMGburn.
     
  5. tama_mog

    tama_mog Kupo
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, here are a couple things you can try:

    1) different better media like g04 or g05 from ritek.
    2) I'm not sure what firmwares xeno uses but the viper chips have gcos and original cobra bios to try with different media compatibility
    3) Adjust the pot and get it within the right specs

    FYI, I've never had a DRE and I've only used ritek g05s on backups with nero on the latest cobra bios. And I did adjust the pot while I was installing the chip. It's not rocket science if you know how to use a multimeter/fluke meter.
     
  6. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045
    Country:
    Italy
    I was thinking if the Wii will accept anyway GC discs but will have a larger drive slot capable of standard sized dvds then with the right mod it would be easier to play GC backups on the Wii, and also cheaper since standard sized dvss are cheaper, am I right ?
     
  7. lagman

    lagman I wish I was green.
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Country:
    Mexico
    You´re right. But I don´t think that find the right MOD would be that easy.

    @Menacie- Are you burning at low speed? You should not burn faster that 2X.
     
  8. Dirtie

    Dirtie :'D
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I use full-size Verbatim +Rs. I had to tweak my laser though. Try G04s first if possible (G05s never worked at all for me).
     
  9. [Jez]

    [Jez] Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Have a decent burner, my Pioneer 111d + verbatim minis = everything I burn plays on my GC with a xeno installed. Also try EVERYTHING else before tweaking the pot
     
  10. bryehn

    bryehn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    i have good luck with fugifilm minis, and verbatim minis. i load isos with GCOM and have only had 2 discs fail on me out of 60+.
     
  11. mcsquared

    mcsquared GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    well i always used to use datawrite full size, never had a prob, now i use mini dvd-rs 4 for a quid from poundland, work great, no probs and dont have to bother taking the lid off. waiting for fifa 07 to appear tho so i can 'test' it:(
     
  12. vancitypimp

    vancitypimp Newbie

    Get a better burned and burn games at the lowest settings. Do a scan of your burned disks using Nero CD-SPEED or DVDInfo Pro for PI/PO errors. If you get results below 95, then it means it will have trouble being read in GCN.
     
  13. Lazycus

    Lazycus Rotten
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Same for me. MY GC loves Ritek G04 Minis burned with Nero on a Pioneer DVR-109 at 4X. Tweak laser as a final option.
     
  14. Menacie

    OP Menacie Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Got 3 Traxdata Mini DVD-R's today with G04 Dye, burned Paper Mario and Super Monkey Ball, no problem, I'll let you know if my 3rd burn goes successful, shame these Traxdata mini dvd-r's are a pain in the arse to find in the UK.
     
  15. mcsquared

    mcsquared GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    get yourself to poundland mate, 4 for a quid of johnny no name 4x mini dvd-r for camcorders, works great on my GC and not 1 bad burn or error yet. worth trying for a quid
     
  16. adgloride

    adgloride Its A Wii Wario
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    You may have to tweak the laser. I have a q00b modchip in mine but mine only reads the minis datawrite reds, ridata and budget (Only the orangy ones the yellow ones are total crap). How are you burning the games? Are you using Nero to burn them? The .GCN files I always check to see if they need panning out (Can't remember the name of the program) if you don't nero throws up an error.
     
  17. Menacie

    OP Menacie Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Using IMGBurn.
     
  18. Kirby102

    Kirby102 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Ritek G04s? I have heaps of them, most of my games are them anyway.

    But yeah, you got to tweak your POT, it helps alot, and you could extend your laser's durability too which is beneficial. It's about 180-210 ohms that you have to set it to, but I followed this site:

    http://modthatcube.pxn-os.com/main.htm

    It should help you. [​IMG]
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Gamecube, backups,