Help with GameCube Backup Launcher

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by GuardianDemon, Jul 31, 2009.

Jul 31, 2009
  1. GuardianDemon
    OP

    Newcomer GuardianDemon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Ireland
    Hi , i just joined the wii hack comunity , and i am having problems running my backups on the wii.

    I installed HBC with the BannerBomb exploit on a 3.3E wii.

    I tried to run GC Backup Launcher to boot my copied game (A Multi-disc game of 007:Everything or Nothing & Skies Of Arcadia : Legends on a Full-sized 4.7gig dvd-r)

    It gave me a green screen , then gave me the wii dashboard.

    I tried to run Wii Backup Launcher , same issue.

    So lastnight i installed cIOS38 revision 13 into the wii , and both programs still refuse to boot the disc , same issue again.

    I dont have WIFI in my house , so i have to use the .WAD installations.

    What is it that i am doing wrong ?
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Have you run a MIOS Patcher yet?
     
  3. Fiesty Panda

    Banned Fiesty Panda Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    Before you can play any gamecube backups, you need to have used the included mIOS patcher. If you're backup launcher is then in black and white, use backup launcher 0.1 XI. Don't even bother trying to get backups from different regions working (its quite difficult). Then make sure you're backup is okay (right region, burned slowly, although to be honest, I burnt my first backup at full speed and it works fine.) But anyways, patch you system's mIOS and the launcher will run.
     
  4. GuardianDemon
    OP

    Newcomer GuardianDemon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Ireland
    The Backup launcher i got didnt have anything in it , it just had a boot.dol file in it. Nothing else.

    What is a Mios Patcher , and if its allowed , where could i get one ??

    Another thing , could someone explain the difference between cIOS and Mios ?
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    MIOS is the gamecube compatibility layer while cIOS is what makes backup loading work. In the downloads section of the site look for GCN Loader 0.2 (not Xi) and that should have the MIOS Patcher app included with it.
     
  6. GuardianDemon
    OP

    Newcomer GuardianDemon Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ok , got the Mios Patcher , but it immmediatly freezes upon boot . just hangs with some red writting and has some green writing that says MIOS5 , and GCBACKUP .

    What now .

    Oh , and is the TMD file supposed to be kilosbites small ??

    Edit : It wasnt freezing , my unofficial MADCATS Xstream controller wasnt working in the MIOS Patcher ? It installed perfectly fine with my official controller !!

    So i guess that the TMD file is that small !!



    Thanks so much for helping guys !! now i'm of to play skies of arcadia !!! WOOOO !! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page