Help with creating channel

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tylerzentz, Feb 12, 2010.

Feb 12, 2010
  1. tylerzentz
    OP

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    I installed a game to my USB hard drive (formatted to WBFS) using Configurable USB Loader v52 b4. I heard it is possible to now install this game as a channel to the wii, but I have no idea how to begin this process. Any advice?
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    search for Loadstructor or crap I think
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yeah, use "Crap". You can find it in the backup launchers section.

    Be sure to install preloader or bootmii before you're going to install the channels!
     
  4. tylerzentz
    OP

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    I installed Smash Brawl as a channel and now im trying to boot it through Gecko OS so that I can use the Brawl+ modifications without having the original disk in the Wii but every time I try this Gecko crashes to a black screen with white text. Any way around this?

    Oh! would I have to change the IOS used for the channel in LoadStructor? I chose 249.

    PLZ HALP I r N0ob
     
  5. tylerzentz
    OP

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    Is bumping a thread permissible on these forums? Because that's definitely not what I'm doing here.
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    i got it working using cfg usb loader, more info can be found HERE

    (u may need to read the whole thread, but its short)

    edit: i love how u casually bumped this thread, lol, much more entertaining to read than "bump"
     
  7. tylerzentz
    OP

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    I'm notorious for furtive bumping. Thanks for the link I'm reading it now.
     
  8. tylerzentz
    OP

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    I checked out the link. Would I still need the snapshot method if I'm formatted to WBFS? Someone mentioned a Neogamma method but you said it wouldn't work without WBFS.
     
  9. tylerzentz
    OP

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just soooo confused.
     
  10. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    u need to use the snapshot method unless u have the original retail disk

    1) save brawl+ to the sd card
    2) save snapshotLoaderRSBE01.gct (renamed to RSBE01.gct) under your ocarina "codes" directory
    3) save al_5-0.bin in the sd card in a folder called SD:/private/wii/app/RSBE/al/
    4) Launch the game from configurable usb loader with ocarina turned on (should work with other loaders too)

    this is pretty much exactly what was said in the link i posted above... but this spells it out better

    good luck

    Posts merged

    also, once u get it working, all u need to do is make a channel using CRAP (or loadstructor works too if you're still on wbfs) with ocarina turned on by default... which will launch Brawl+ (as long as it finds the required files on the sd card)
     
  11. tylerzentz
    OP

    Member tylerzentz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    where is file for your step 1? and do i still need the gameconfig.txt (mentioned in the official site's installation guide) and Fighter PAC's?
     

Share This Page