Help with CFG Loader

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by drmarvin, Aug 25, 2011.

Aug 25, 2011

Help with CFG Loader by drmarvin at 5:30 PM (1,154 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. drmarvin
    OP

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a few issues I'm dealing with here.

    I have switched to CFG USB Loader to be able to load RB3. I have successfully gotten it to run with full SDHC and instrument support (mic and keyboard dongle) by installing d2x v6 base 56 as IOS247.

    My problem is now that it takes a really long time (2min) to finally load the game after launching it. It says "Starting Game ...." until finally it runs. It certainly is more annoying than going to put the disc in, but I'd love for it to launch like all the other games.

    I am running it from a Lexar 32gig USB stick (FAT32), so spin-up and seek time and such shouldn't be an issue.

    For troubleshooting, I have tried installing d2x v3-5 instead, but they all do the same thing.

    Also, CFG v70 seems to load slowly (when it says 249 and 250 in the corner). I have tried installing d2x v6 base IOS58 as 249 and it sped that up, but the 250 part still takes more than a minute (I think 250 is d2x v6 base IOS38). Any way to speed this stuff up? Better base IOS selections?

    Thanks
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    249[56] d2x v6
    250[57] d2x v6
     
  3. drmarvin
    OP

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the suggestion. I'll test it when I get a chance.

    Cheers
     
  4. drmarvin
    OP

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    hi JoostinOnline

    I tried this, and it does boot successfully and run the game with standard settings, but as I said before, it's very slow to initially boot and to run RB3. Am I missing a setting or something? Should I be doing something else?

    Also, as I'm trying to get this set up as a SM replacement, can CFG loader run channels (like Wiiflow and GX)?

    Thanks
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    That is one drawback of Cfg, although I still think it's better than other loaders because of it's compatibility. You can Ultimate Forwarder Creator to make ISO forwarders to channels (they end up being a couple MB each) and launch them like games. One thing is you need to use a cIOS with base 38 for them. I suggest 222, which commonly has base 38 in it.
     
  6. drmarvin
    OP

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry, I think I was unclear. When I said Channels, I meant Internet Channel, and Shop Channel and such (and Wiiware, etc). If I want to replace the SM, I would like to be able to launch these without needing another app such as postloader or mighty channels.

    I don't have any custom settings for RB3 (I had a different IOS setting, but I changed that back, since IOS56 base is now in slot 249. It's all so slow when starting up and launching that specific game. If that's the way it has to be, I guess it has to be, but I'd love it to be different. Also, since I have IOS56 base as slot 249, maybe I can use WiiFlow again. I'll have to try that.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  7. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Try installing base 37 in 248 and use that.
     
  8. drmarvin
    OP

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So I deleted all custom settings for games in WiiFlow, and RB3 now runs fine (with base 56 d2x in slot 249). I haven't tried any other games. Will most games be fine running on that base? I don't have a massive library of games (Twilight Princess, S&M Olympics, Kart, Galaxies, NSMBW). Would these usually work fine with base 56? If so, I think I'm all set, since WiiFlow does installed channels, too.

    Thanks for the help. Please let me know if you know about those other games.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Base 56 should work for almost every game. You need base 57 (usually installed in 250) for COD:BO and Conduit 2.
     
  10. drmarvin
    OP

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for all the help. As you said, the other games seem to work great. I don't have those weird games so I should be good. I may now make the full SM switchover.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page