Help With Bricked Wii. I have NAND Backup.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bacarat, Jun 16, 2009.

Jun 16, 2009
  1. bacarat
    OP

    Newcomer bacarat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Hi Everyone,
    I was softmodding my Wii and ran into a problem. I was downgrading to 3.2 System Menu and (Stupidly) skipped a step and went ahead and downgraded with + then - (Dangerous!) I think what happened was that I skipped copying the file that was nescassary to install this version of the system menu. I rebooted my Wii and the Green light comes on, disks spin up but nothing comes on the screen, it says no signal. I think I may have deleted my system menu or something? Prior to doing this I thought I had installed BootMii as boot2, because I made a backup of my NAND and saved it to my computer from the SD card. The problem is that the Wii wont even boot to BootMii now even with the SD card in so I cant restore a backup from my NAND. Does anyone have any suggestions for me to fix this? I have tried to use the Gamecube controller fix but it wont work, still no signal on my TV when I boot up my Wii. Any help would be greatly apreciated. Aside from buying a new Wii is there ANYTHING I can do here? Again I DO have a NAND backup. Thanks Guys!
     
  2. awsome8

    Member awsome8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    make sure the folder on ur sd card for bootmii is named "bootmii" and check that all of the files are there. if u have preloader, use it to run the homebrew channel and then install bootmii as an ios. i think that this makes it so u can run bootmii when u press the home button while in the homebrew channel. hope this works
     
  3. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    If it actually says "no signal" rather than simply a black screen then its unlikely to be a software/firmware issue and more likely a hardware issue - first off, have you checked the video cables are connected properly? Do the wiimotes sync upon start up?
     
  4. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    when you turn on the wii without a sd card in it. does the dvd led flash blue twice, if it does that means bootmii is install to boot2 if it does not, you dont have it installed

    edit: And to the poster above me, yes a low level software brick like missing the system menu IOS or the system menu itself, can cause a No Video Signal, and also a faulty hardware can cause this also, but i'm pretty sure bootmii if its installed has boot2 can still boot even with a faulty Bluetooth\Wifi module so you need to check if the dvd led flashes blue twice upon powering on your wii without a sd card, to see if you have it installed correctly.
     
  5. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    I've never actually understood how video cables could be the problem unless they are broken. Having them not plugged in correctly would just lead to no signal.
     
  6. bacarat
    OP

    Newcomer bacarat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Hi Guys, Thanks for the fast responses!

    OK, So My Wii DVD LED Does flash twice when I turn on the Wii, does this mean I have BootMii installed? My WiiMotes will not sync and My cables are fine because My brother Wii works fine with them. Thanks!
     
  7. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Then make sure your as card has the bootmii file named, well, bootmii. Then bootmii should start up. Then you can restore your NAND.
     
  8. bacarat
    OP

    Newcomer bacarat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    ACK! I think thats the problem, The bootmii folder is GONE from my SD card, Anything I can do about that? I dont have the Bootmii folder on my SD card
     
  9. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada

    Yeah, but apparently the bootmii file is gone. Hmm. I'm trying to think what you can do now..... Do you have preloader?
     
  10. bacarat
    OP

    Newcomer bacarat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    My BROS wii has the homebrew channel, Can I just use that and choose the Setup SD card option then use that SD card to boot the broken Wii? I dont have preloader on the broken wii, I only backed up the NAND
     
  11. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Yes but you will need to add your own specific nand.bin (from your pc) to the bootmii folder created on the sd card and then cross your fingers!
     
  12. bacarat
    OP

    Newcomer bacarat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    OK Guys, IT WORKED! I was able to use his Wii to prepare the SD card and boot to BootMii, Im going to try to restore from the NAND backup and let you knwo how it goes. You guys are great. Thanks!
     
  13. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Well thats good News, let us know when you get it restored.
     
  14. bacarat
    OP

    Newcomer bacarat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I was able to restore from my NAND backup, WHEW!. You guys are lifesavers. Thanks Again All is well now!
     
  15. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    I would suggest to copy over the bootmii folder (containing the three necessary files to boot it) over to your HD as well and store it along with your original backed up NAND. This way you always have these files should you ever format your SD card or accidentally delete them, you can copy that folder over to an SD along with the nand.bin and restore without having to hunt down another bootmii Wii [​IMG]

    Good to see bootmii in restore action! Good job [​IMG]
     
  16. amwg16

    Newcomer amwg16 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I have the exact same issue. I was trying to update the Shop Channel without updating to 4.3 (I was on 4.2U) and after a reboot, I no longer get a video signal on tv.

    I had BootMii installed as boot1, I believe, I'm not sure.
    The disc led flashes only once, if that's any help.
    When I power on the Wii it is still responsive and I can insert disc and hear them spin up only nothing is outputted to tv.
    My Wiimotes won't sync, when I push any button the 4 lights at the bottom of the controller just blink a couple times.
    I also too have a NAND backup and I have the bootmii folder on my SD card with 3 files in there (armboot.ini, bootmii.ini, ppcboot.elf).

    What is the exact process to booting into BootMii to restore NAND, is it automatic or do I have to somehow trigger it? Do i need to edit the bootmii.ini file? Any help would be greatly appreciated.... I've double checked the video cables and they are fine, I also tried booting with GC controller w/o any success. (using 3rd party GC controller)

    HELP please.... =[
     
  17. nintendoom

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    AFAIK. if you installed bootmii on boot1 then you should get in the bootmii menu(?)when you turn on the wii.
    You j ust need to put the bootmii files in your sd.
    Otherwise, if you installed it in boot2. you should have preloader installed in order to get in the bootmii menu.
     
  18. nintendoom

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    oh. and when youre in the bootmii menu(?).. go to the option where the arrow is pointing to the square [the square one like a memory chip] thing..
     
  19. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    If bootmii is not booting its common hardware issue (not softmod related) just unplug your wii for an hour or so.
     

Share This Page