1. 8up

    OP 8up Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Hello all, I come here for help with one problem that I have not see before.

    I am a technician at a local computer store in Turkey and today I was ask to fix from 3 customer 3DS XL with pirate cards. 2 with 3DSlink and 1 with R4i Deluxe card.

    On both monitors touch and 3D have the blue screen with white letters showing
    BOOTROM 8046
    ERRCODE : 00F800EF
    FFFFFFFF FFFFFFFF
    00000008 00000000

    When I press any button nothing happen.
    I do not know what is the version for console software but customer say that it happen when they starting to use the pirate card (so be from 4.1-4.5).

    Should I send to nintendo reseller to RMA or is the high risk for detection of pirate card?
    Can the problem fixed with software?

    Thank you
    Mehmet
     
  2. bkifft

    bkifft avowed Cuthwaldian
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Gambia, The

    http://gbatemp.net/threads/bricked-3ds-xl-help.360464/
     
  3. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Country:
    can you ask them what 3dslink/r4 firmware they were using?
     
  4. 8up

    OP 8up Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Yes I can call to ask.
    It matter what game they have on card to ask?

    Do you now if it safe to test the customer 3DSlink & R4i Deluxe on other 3DS to see if they still work or is it high risk test.
     
  5. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Country:
    no the game doesn't matter , if all 3 used the latest firmware ( 3.3 ) we will know for sure the culprit
     
  6. 8up

    OP 8up Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Only 1 customer answer now and he say that he not know for sure the software version for card.
    Is there way to check from here?
     
  7. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Country:
    uhm well , you can get the launcher.dat on the 3ds SD and then compare it's CRC with the diff versions ( try at least 3.3) of the 3dslink/r4i firmwares
     
  8. 8up

    OP 8up Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Ok thank you will try now
     
  9. 8up

    OP 8up Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    I check download page for 3.3 and I find 3.3b is this the one to test ?
     
  10. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Country:
    it's not , I can't give you the link through there :S
     
  11. 8up

    OP 8up Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    I speak to other customer and he say he download the firmware 3.0 & 3.1 it released

    The problem for this one happen with 3.1 he said. He turn on the console after long time (9-10 days) and it get the blue screen without changing game or card.
     
  12. Nismax

    Nismax GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I think I'll be keeping the wi-fi switched off in the near future until this issue is diagnosed at least.

    What are the chances that all of these consoles are having the same issue, at the same time out of the blue, and not being related to an update of some sort? I'd guess pretty slim.
     
  13. willdunz

    willdunz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    yeah link3ds fucked up. the forum I go to regularly has at least 5 link users reporting blue screen.

    to OP does yours look like this? http://imgur.com/a/TXVhs
     
  14. 8up

    OP 8up Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Yes that it same screen!

    Can this happen if you keep upgrading/downgrading your firmware all the time? e.g from 3.0 to 3.1 to 3.2 to 3.3 back to 3.2 or other older version? Does it damage the console?
     
  15. willdunz

    willdunz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States

    I honestly have no idea. but some of these users emailed the chinese customer service of 3DSlink. 3dslink people said users should use 3.3b to avoid the problem? Again I don't even know what that means. here's the email screenshot in chinese. http://imgur.com/KTMCQhE From the email I think these people are using 3.2 firmware so maybe 3.2 is bugged or something?
     
  16. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Country:
    3.3b is just firmware 2.0 zipped with another name , that's the last firmware before emunand , which is the safest firmware to use right now , seeing that the problem might be emunand related , and only lose zelda and mh4 compatibility
     
  17. jajasilver

    jajasilver Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    It is surely turning into a blue screen wave on all the forums... :( And still no way to know whats causing it for sure.

    All we know is that 3.x is a common cause on both 3dslink/r4i devices (except 3.3b which is 2.0 really just repacked, but its too early to know for sure)

    Ask your customers if they were had WiFi configured connected when this happened.
    Other threads are saying that it doesnt happen when WiFi is off but nothing confirmed yet.

    Im on 3.2 and it has been working great + I dont use WiFi on my device.

    I am afraid to turn it on at all now. :cry::cry:
     
  18. juins

    juins GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    503
    Country:
    IM Pretty sure 3.0 is exluded. it worked flawlessly for along time.

    3.1 was a bitch though. so much savegame corruption.
    3.2 is the firmware im using at the moment, absolutely no problems.

    I never used either of the two v3.3 releases.
     
  19. jajasilver

    jajasilver Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    I dont think so, I have been upgrading/downgrading to test the differences ever since this fiasco started with the 3.3 being a broken release.
    I have had all versions to date on my 3DS and gone back and forth in versions and its ok to do so.

    Please do ask you customers though if they had WiFi on before the problem. This might be a lead to some troubleshooting.
     
  20. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    22,532
    Country:
    France
    I don't think wifi switch as anything to do with this issue. if the console doesn't work, it means the NAND/Bootrom is affected.

    You should ask if they used EmuNAND 7.x (it seems all users had their emuNAND updated)
    If they accessed some menu in the EmuNAND settings, what they changed, etc.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - BOOTROM, 3DSlink, screen