Hacking Help with Blue screen + BOOTROM 8046 error + R4i Deluxe/3DSlink

8up

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
21
Country
Hello all, I come here for help with one problem that I have not see before.

I am a technician at a local computer store in Turkey and today I was ask to fix from 3 customer 3DS XL with pirate cards. 2 with 3DSlink and 1 with R4i Deluxe card.

On both monitors touch and 3D have the blue screen with white letters showing
BOOTROM 8046
ERRCODE : 00F800EF
FFFFFFFF FFFFFFFF
00000008 00000000

When I press any button nothing happen.
I do not know what is the version for console software but customer say that it happen when they starting to use the pirate card (so be from 4.1-4.5).

Should I send to nintendo reseller to RMA or is the high risk for detection of pirate card?
Can the problem fixed with software?

Thank you
Mehmet
 

bkifft

avowed Cuthwaldian
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
613
Trophies
0
XP
624
Country
Gambia, The
Hello all, I come here for help with one problem that I have not see before.

I am a technician at a local computer store in Turkey and today I was ask to fix from 3 customer 3DS XL with pirate cards. 2 with 3DSlink and 1 with R4i Deluxe card.

On both monitors touch and 3D have the blue screen with white letters showing
BOOTROM 8046
ERRCODE : 00F800EF
FFFFFFFF FFFFFFFF
00000008 00000000

When I press any button nothing happen.
I do not know what is the version for console software but customer say that it happen when they starting to use the pirate card (so be from 4.1-4.5).

Should I send to nintendo reseller to RMA or is the high risk for detection of pirate card?
Can the problem fixed with software?

Thank you
Mehmet


http://gbatemp.net/threads/bricked-3ds-xl-help.360464/
 

8up

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
21
Country
can you ask them what 3dslink/r4 firmware they were using?

Yes I can call to ask.
It matter what game they have on card to ask?

Do you now if it safe to test the customer 3DSlink & R4i Deluxe on other 3DS to see if they still work or is it high risk test.
 

8up

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
21
Country
no the game doesn't matter , if all 3 used the latest firmware ( 3.3 ) we will know for sure the culprit

Only 1 customer answer now and he say that he not know for sure the software version for card.
Is there way to check from here?
 

masterzero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
624
Trophies
0
XP
490
Country
uhm well , you can get the launcher.dat on the 3ds SD and then compare it's CRC with the diff versions ( try at least 3.3) of the 3dslink/r4i firmwares
 

8up

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
21
Country
I speak to other customer and he say he download the firmware 3.0 & 3.1 it released

The problem for this one happen with 3.1 he said. He turn on the console after long time (9-10 days) and it get the blue screen without changing game or card.
 

Nismax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
191
Trophies
0
XP
262
Country
United States
Yeah I think I'll be keeping the wi-fi switched off in the near future until this issue is diagnosed at least.

What are the chances that all of these consoles are having the same issue, at the same time out of the blue, and not being related to an update of some sort? I'd guess pretty slim.
 

8up

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
21
Country
yeah link3ds fucked up. the forum I go to regularly has at least 5 link users reporting blue screen.

to OP does yours look like this? http://imgur.com/a/TXVhs

Yes that it same screen!

Can this happen if you keep upgrading/downgrading your firmware all the time? e.g from 3.0 to 3.1 to 3.2 to 3.3 back to 3.2 or other older version? Does it damage the console?
 

willdunz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
189
Trophies
0
XP
282
Country
United States
Yes that it same screen!

Can this happen if you keep upgrading/downgrading your firmware all the time? e.g from 3.0 to 3.1 to 3.2 to 3.3 back to 3.2 or other older version? Does it damage the console?


I honestly have no idea. but some of these users emailed the chinese customer service of 3DSlink. 3dslink people said users should use 3.3b to avoid the problem? Again I don't even know what that means. here's the email screenshot in chinese. http://imgur.com/KTMCQhE From the email I think these people are using 3.2 firmware so maybe 3.2 is bugged or something?
 

masterzero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
624
Trophies
0
XP
490
Country
3.3b is just firmware 2.0 zipped with another name , that's the last firmware before emunand , which is the safest firmware to use right now , seeing that the problem might be emunand related , and only lose zelda and mh4 compatibility
 

jajasilver

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
24
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
It is surely turning into a blue screen wave on all the forums... :( And still no way to know whats causing it for sure.

All we know is that 3.x is a common cause on both 3dslink/r4i devices (except 3.3b which is 2.0 really just repacked, but its too early to know for sure)

Ask your customers if they were had WiFi configured connected when this happened.
Other threads are saying that it doesnt happen when WiFi is off but nothing confirmed yet.

Im on 3.2 and it has been working great + I dont use WiFi on my device.

I am afraid to turn it on at all now. :cry::cry:
 

juins

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
509
Trophies
0
XP
926
Country
IM Pretty sure 3.0 is exluded. it worked flawlessly for along time.

3.1 was a bitch though. so much savegame corruption.
3.2 is the firmware im using at the moment, absolutely no problems.

I never used either of the two v3.3 releases.
 

jajasilver

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
24
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
Yes that it same screen!

Can this happen if you keep upgrading/downgrading your firmware all the time? e.g from 3.0 to 3.1 to 3.2 to 3.3 back to 3.2 or other older version? Does it damage the console?

I dont think so, I have been upgrading/downgrading to test the differences ever since this fiasco started with the 3.3 being a broken release.
I have had all versions to date on my 3DS and gone back and forth in versions and its ok to do so.

Please do ask you customers though if they had WiFi on before the problem. This might be a lead to some troubleshooting.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,526
Country
France
I don't think wifi switch as anything to do with this issue. if the console doesn't work, it means the NAND/Bootrom is affected.

You should ask if they used EmuNAND 7.x (it seems all users had their emuNAND updated)
If they accessed some menu in the EmuNAND settings, what they changed, etc.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    TheLiamChannel @ TheLiamChannel: Big 8/15/male/10/straight/like pfp/has white shirt with "Maika Mii" in glitzy writing, and a...