help updating my 3.4 wii and why

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mrpp, Dec 1, 2009.

Dec 1, 2009
  1. mrpp
    OP

    Newcomer mrpp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    hi i got a question my firmware is 3.4 i just softmodded the other day should i use pimp my wii to update to a newer firmware or is there another way? also if i do what benefits will i have? right now i cant get on wii shop channel it says i need to update through nintendo but i read not to do that. any help would be appreciated thank you
     
  2. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    Updating could help you play newer games plus the SD Card Menu..

    Just read the stickies or Search
     
  3. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you can update with the new versions of dop-ios if you want 4.0 or 4.1 remember to install IOS60 first and IOS70 for 4.2 then the system menu for your region

    why you can use pre/priiloader for extra patches on the system menu like skip disk updates, region free channels and lots more
     
  4. mrpp
    OP

    Newcomer mrpp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    ok thank you i got the dop ios mod 8 but now im confused it says pick your iso to update but i have no idea what that means. it says if do wrong i can brick is there a step by step guide for an idiot? if you want 4.0 or 4.1 remember to install IOS60 first does this mean i just go in my 3.4 ios and go to ios60 to make it update to 4.1?so bascilly would that be all i have to do?
     
  5. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    when it asks you what IOS to use use 250 and first go to IOS section press right till you see IOS60 press - button then A(to install) then A(to trucha patch) and wait for it to install then press B go to system menu section select your region(MODv9 has region detection) and then select what firmware you want and press A and install and you'll get the system menu you want done this on my 2 wii's from 3.2 all the way to 4.2 and back to 4.0
     
  6. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG]
     
  7. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    sorry typo
     
  8. mruno

    Newcomer mruno Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    if you use pimp my wii it will update you to 4.1
    i used it to update from 3.2 without a hitch and i recommend using it.
     
  9. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    no. just do what longtom1 has said. use dop-ios mod.
     

Share This Page