Hacking Question Help, "Unable to start Software

thelars

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 29, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
13
Country
Germany
Hey guys,

I bought a Switch with CFW already installed and until yesterday everything worked fine. Today my son wanted to start the switch and kept pressing buttons because the TV did not turn on and something seems off. Every game or Tinfoil gets the error msg "Unable to start software..."

I don't know which version of cfw is installed, on the sd card there are argon, atmosphere, bootloader, config, nintendo, scripts, sept, switch and tools folder. Also there is an ArgonNX.bin, boot.dat, exosphere.ini, fusee-primary.bin, hbmenu.nro and Tinfoil...

When I go to system settings it tells me it is version 11...nothing with AMS or something like that, but I dont know if that was the case before. Any tips on where to start troubleshooting? Really lost here..can't start homebrew menu or anything, but I did not do that before..it was just Tinfoil and enjoy gaming.
 
Last edited by thelars,
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

thesjaakspoiler

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2018
Messages
595
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
786
Country
Afghanistan
Did the system maybe reboot in OFW?
Then you indeed will not be able to start anything.

If you go into System menu, it tells you the current version.
It should say something like 11.3.4|AMS 0.10.5
If you don't see AMS then your Switch rebooted into the normal/official firmware or maybe it updated itself to firmware 11.

If it 'just' booted into OFW, you need to reboot and inject the primary payload from Atmosphere again.
I don't know if you have an injector build-in or if you are using an external injector (or maybe a smartphone/pc).

If the Switch updated itself to firmware 11 (from a lower firmware), you need to install the latest version of Atmosphere (and the latest *harhar* sigpatches *harhar*) to get everything to work again.

If your Switch was connected to the internet, it's just a single popup that asks you if you want to update the Switch.
Kids tend to click that easily.
But dads should know how to update/maintain their Switch.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,806
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,784
Country
United States
Hey guys,

I bought a Switch with CFW already installed and until yesterday everything worked fine. Today my son wanted to start the switch and kept pressing buttons because the TV did not turn on and something seems off. Every game or Tinfoil gets the error msg "Unable to start software..."

I don't know which version of cfw is installed, on the sd card there are argon, atmosphere, bootloader, config, nintendo, scripts, sept, switch and tools folder. Also there is an ArgonNX.bin, boot.dat, exosphere.ini, fusee-primary.bin, hbmenu.nro and Tinfoil...

When I go to system settings it tells me it is version 11...nothing with AMS or something like that, but I dont know if that was the case before. Any tips on where to start troubleshooting? Really lost here..can't start homebrew menu or anything, but I did not do that before..it was just Tinfoil and enjoy gaming.
Since you're not familiar with Switch hacking, I recommend familiarizing yourself with a guide.
 
  • Like
Reactions: impeeza and BigOnYa

diarie2005

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2021
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
45
Country
Indonesia
I have same issue as well especially for particular titles like Super Robot Wars 30th & Shin Megami Tensei V. I am using Fusee Henkate with AMS 1.2.5. Is there anyone could help me? really want to play this game so much. Thank you everyone.
 

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
509
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
705
Country
United States
Hey guys,

I bought a Switch with CFW already installed and until yesterday everything worked fine. Today my son wanted to start the switch and kept pressing buttons because the TV did not turn on and something seems off. Every game or Tinfoil gets the error msg "Unable to start software..."

I don't know which version of cfw is installed, on the sd card there are argon, atmosphere, bootloader, config, nintendo, scripts, sept, switch and tools folder. Also there is an ArgonNX.bin, boot.dat, exosphere.ini, fusee-primary.bin, hbmenu.nro and Tinfoil...

When I go to system settings it tells me it is version 11...nothing with AMS or something like that, but I dont know if that was the case before. Any tips on where to start troubleshooting? Really lost here..can't start homebrew menu or anything, but I did not do that before..it was just Tinfoil and enjoy gaming.
Update to newest atmospher eand hekate 1st:

 

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
509
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
705
Country
United States
Hi @Donnie-Burger unfortunately after i have follow step by step. Its still doesn't works at all. Show the same error

"Unable to start Software, Please return back to Home"​

If game giving you issue - Delete game - Load tinfoil - Tickets - Delete ticket for the game giving you issue then re-install game.
 
Last edited by Donnie-Burger,

diarie2005

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2021
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
45
Country
Indonesia
If game giving you issue - Delete game - Load tinfoil - Tickets - Delete ticket for the game giving you issue then re-install game.
Hi @Donnie-Burger not helping. Its still give same response. Even i have delete ticket and reinstall but still the same. :(
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2021-12-07 at 21.59.25.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-12-07 at 21.59.25.jpeg
    113.2 KB · Views: 34

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
1,769
Trophies
1
XP
2,807
Country
Canada
not helping. Its still give same response. Even i have delete ticket and reinstall but still the same. :(
Probably wrong sigpatches. Update everything (Atmosphere, firmware, hekate, and sigpatches)
You should get familiar with the hacking process. There are guides for this. Here's one: https://rentry.org/SwitchHackingIsEasy
 

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
509
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
705
Country
United States
Probably wrong sigpatches. Update everything (Atmosphere, firmware, hekate, and sigpatches)
You should get familiar with the hacking process. There are guides for this. Here's one: https://rentry.org/SwitchHackingIsEasy
Already gave guide with working patches. It's game(s) specific as some games load so def not patches.
 

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
509
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
705
Country
United States
I have updated into newest atmosphere like @Donnie-Burger share the guide above. :(
I've seen this before and I believe used either gold leaf and or tinfoil to delete ticket, after deleting game. This has worked on all but 1 switch. Had to re-setup emumnand on one to get it sorted. If you have issues with just those games after re-setting up emunand and installing those games then your sd or nsp/xci/nsz are most likely bad/corrupt.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Apple is the new Disney