HELP! Totally new at Acekard 2i, how to install on 1.4 dsi?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by gunzresident, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. gunzresident
    OP

    Newcomer gunzresident Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    First of HELLO! im new to this forum and im here to ask for serious aid.

    I have just purchased an Acecard 2i but it does not come patched so that it works on 1.4 firmware on dsi! I have been googling around and have heard of a patch that can be downloaded, but i cant seem to find it, NOT even at the official Acekard website.

    Ok so heres the deal, i have a new DSI V 1.4 BUT i do also have a DS LITE. From what i have been reading, its possible to update the acekard VIA DSI LITE. Now the question is how do i do that? I havent found a clear tutorial and i have doubts, because some say that the patch comes with a DSI Update and a DSL update. IM confused because some sites say if you are using a DS LITE to update you must ONLY use the DSI UPDATE... other sites say that you must use the DSL Update ONLY!! What is the correct method? i heard that if i dont do it right, the acekard will BRICK [​IMG] and i dont want that to happen...

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH ! I HIGHLY APPRECIATE IT IF YOU CAN HELP ME OUT [​IMG]
     


  2. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
  3. DQScott95

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Go Here and download the patch I would suggest This firmware for your acekard (link is somewhere like in the first couple posts) for your acekard 2i its AKAIO much better than the official firmware. So once you download the patch put it somewhere on your acekard like in the DSgames or Homebrew folder and run the patch with your DS Lite when your done put the acekard in your DSI it should show up as some danny phantom game but its the acekard. Now you can do whatever you want with your acekard.
     
  4. gunzresident
    OP

    Newcomer gunzresident Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH BOXSHOT! THSI IS the kind of guide that i had been looking for [​IMG]

    So if i update the acekard through the DS LITE, i use the DSI UPDATE right? not the DSL
     
  5. DQScott95

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    No you use the DSL update thats why you run it on the DSL
     
  6. gunzresident
    OP

    Newcomer gunzresident Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States



    GREAT NOW IM CONFUSED AGAIN LOL!! ok but this is what the guide says, QUOTING

    "ak2ifw_update_14_DSi_new.nds is used to update a single cart, and can be used on the DS Lite, DS Phat and DSi FW =< 1.3. In most cases this is the file you should use because there's less chance of anything going wrong."

    "ak2ifw_update_14_DSL_new.nds is used to update multiple carts and also unbrick an Acekard previously bricked by either update. This file only runs on the DS Lite or DS Phat."



    So that is what the guide says, what should i do? im sorry its just that i want to be real sure before i don anything.
     
  7. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Either works. The DSL version is made for batch updates/unbricking. The DSi version is a one card use. Which mean it updates the cart its ran on.
     
  8. DQScott95

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Just run the DSL update since you will be using it to update anyways But if you want try to update it using the DSi one then go ahead
     
  9. gunzresident
    OP

    Newcomer gunzresident Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States


    OK so let me get this straight. If i put the DSI UPDATE FILE in my micro sd card and then i put it in my acekard, and then put my acekard in a DS LITE and run it from there (THE DSI UPDATE), everything should be fine?
     
  10. kingofgamesgx

    Member kingofgamesgx Hitokiri Battousai

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    just follow the guide thats what its there for
     
  11. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it should be.

    @kingofgamesgx That would be the case if there wasn't another member telling him otherwise or at least confusing him.
     
  12. kingofgamesgx

    Member kingofgamesgx Hitokiri Battousai

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States

    sorry for the double post but yes


    Edit:

    @BoxShot yea i know exactly what your saying ,but seeing the wiki was updated with that guide it is the more credible source for info (see page 3 of the topic for links to the wiki on it)
     
  13. gunzresident
    OP

    Newcomer gunzresident Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States


    Thank you very much then. I will do that as soon as i recieve my acekard! by the way this is the one i purchased, do you think its the real one?

    http://www.wiiloveds.com/product-p/acekard-2i.htm
     
  14. DQScott95

    Member DQScott95 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    It seems to be the real one thats what my AK2i came in
     
  15. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Oy this was even confusing to follow. Just do what BoxShot says as the DSi update file is for single cards while the DSL file is for many cards. The DSi file will update the Acekard that was booted while the DSL will ask you to reinsert another Acekard and allow you to update multiple cards.
     
  16. gunzresident
    OP

    Newcomer gunzresident Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States


    HAHA lol you can imagine how confused i was .. well everything is clearer now so i will just wait for my acekard and i will post if everything went according to plan. THANKS TO YOU ALL FOR YOUR HELP! except: Kingofgamesgx! lol jp
     
  17. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Confusing members isn't helpful either.

    @kingofgamesgx Hmm never noticed that but eh I don't check out wikis as I got most info in my head. (common questions at least but I'm bad at describing) [​IMG] Will remember that wiki though.

    @gunzresident Don't see why it would be fake/clone. Then again I never actually read that someone here bought from there. No problem. [​IMG]
     
  18. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's BS, and you are linking to the wrong file. gunzresident, Follow the guide to the letter. All the bluescreen update photos in the were taken using a DS Lite, and i've perfromed both updates many times. You should always use the DSi file for the reasons I have already said.
     
  19. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's because I only did a few days ago. Still probably better to refer them to the guide on here until I transfer that over too (going to do a cheat guide first), as n00bs still need to go through the previous steps.
     
  20. kingofgamesgx

    Member kingofgamesgx Hitokiri Battousai

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States


    lol i wouldn't have noticed it either but every day or so i check topic that could have valuable information to make sure im up to date on my information,as if i am gonna try to help a user i wanna make sure the information i have is the most current [​IMG] (i hang out at a website and i am pretty much the go to person for information)


    ,also good luck TC and enjoy your AK2i
     

Share This Page