Help - some USA roms in spanish without option of english

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by otik, Jun 29, 2008.

  1. otik
    OP

    Newcomer otik Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all -

    I'm pretty green about ROm use but it seems when I run some games they default to spanish without option of language choice in the game option menues. If this has been answered b4, I'm sorry, but I couldn't find it. The games I've tried so far are:

    1456 - The Legend of Zelda - Phantom Hourglass (U)
    1964_Advance_Wars_Days_of_Ruin_USA
    Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles Rings Of Fate (USA)
    Mario Kart (U)
    Soul Bubbles (EU)


    Any help appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,735
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2 options:
    1) Your DS is set to Spanish and the games autodetect it (likely as those games are fairly big/made by Nintendo or close associates). Change it to English and you are sorted.

    2) You have a hacked rom. I done it for a few roms way back but have not heard of it being done recently (the Japanese games with English included but not available aside).
     
  3. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    You playing on an emulator? If so, delete the Bios file.

    On a DS, press and hold Start+Select right after you turn on the DS, then touch the DS icon bottom of the screen to go to settings, and change your default language to English.
     
  4. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    ^ Yes. Some games auto detect the language using your system options, without a menu of their own.

    Sonic Rush Adventure is this way. You cannot set the language in-game.
     
  5. otik
    OP

    Newcomer otik Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, yes I was using the No$GBA.2.6a emulator. I deleted the BIOS as was suggested but no luck. I will try the DS console language setting trick when I get mine next week. On the possibility that the ROMs were already hacked.... I've tried several places as well as trying the euro versions of the ROMs (which I assumed have multi-language selections) but the results were still the same.

    Hey guys, thanks alot for the prompt replies, very much appreciated!
     

Share This Page