Hacking Help, Semi bricked with system files currupted on 4.2E

TaxiTitan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
251
Trophies
0
XP
125
Country
Help, Semi bricked with system files currupted on 4.2E.
The text is messed up.
What shall I do?

Happened after installing preloader 0.29 after a full 4.2e update, & trucha re-enabled.
I can start preloader.
Its running in IOS 70

Please help as I dont wanna brick a second wii!
 

TaxiTitan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
251
Trophies
0
XP
125
Country
tanis698 said:
isn't preloader.30 for 4.2 not .29 ?

Yes true, but I could only find the 0.29.
only source for 0.30.
Its only available through online update, that does not work for me.
I only get the brick
 

BenieUK

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
126
Trophies
0
XP
51
Country
Not sure if this can work.. but have to tried to install a wadmanager as the installed file in preloader?

Then you could reinstall Systemmenu 4.2 wad which will remove preloader
unsure.gif
 

TaxiTitan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
251
Trophies
0
XP
125
Country
BenieUK said:
Not sure if this can work.. but have to tried to install a wadmanager as the installed file in preloader?

Then you could reinstall Systemmenu 4.2 wad which will remove preloader
unsure.gif

To much of a guess.
Think the best thing to do is to downgrade then uprade then skip preloader, because 4.2 wont take it.
And cant find the 0.30 app
 

icebrg5

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,328
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
412
Country
United States
Did you patch ios70 before or after installing preloader?

if you patch it after preloader you will get the system menu corrupt message.


Try finding preloader .30 and installing it.That should get rid of the system menu corrupt message.

Just do a search on this board.Its been posted here so theres no reason to say you can't find it.
 

TaxiTitan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
251
Trophies
0
XP
125
Country
RC89 said:
Preloader 0.30 is pretty easy to find, but anyway why didn't you install bootmii and made a NAND backup, cause then you always have a way to restore back.

EDIT: Try reading this, he has a preloader 0.30 in his pack i know for sure. http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901

Thanx a 1000 I found it preloader 0.30 rev 4.

The app is in homebrew channel with internet on.

Press (+) to install or update Preloader.
Press (-) to remove Preloader and restore your system menu.
Hold Down (B) with any of the above options to use IOS249.
Press (HOME) to chicken out and quit the installer!

What to do to unbrick the semi brick?

Should I downgrade then upgrade everything, or use the new loader?
 

TaxiTitan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
251
Trophies
0
XP
125
Country
icpmattj said:
Just reinstall preloader and it should fix it no need to downgrade.

Do I need to uninstall the old one, or just overwrite?
I had the trucha enabled before installing the 1st preloader.

Thanx for the help so far guys!
Much appriciated!
 

Davess

On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
692
Trophies
0
Location
__________________ Posts: 9326
Website
www.daviddavid.webs.com
XP
254
Country
Canada
TaxiTitan said:
icpmattj said:
Just reinstall preloader and it should fix it no need to downgrade.

Do I need to uninstall the old one, or just overwrite?
I had the trucha enabled before installing the 1st preloader.

Thanx for the help so far guys!
Much appriciated!

overwrite
doesn't affect any thing in my mind


and do me a favor press the wii bricking forum link and vote Yes!


Posts merged

TaxiTitan said:
QUOTE(icpmattj @ Nov 13 2009, 01:40 AM)
Just reinstall preloader and it should fix it no need to downgrade.

Do I need to uninstall the old one, or just overwrite?
I had the trucha enabled before installing the 1st preloader.

Thanx for the help so far guys!
Much appriciated!
overwrite
doesn't affect any thing in my mind


and do me a favor press the wii bricking forum link and vote Yes!


Dam double post (my first one)

why do i feel violated?
 

TaxiTitan

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
251
Trophies
0
XP
125
Country
Preloader 0.30 installed and works.
Still cant load system meny!

Error autobooting system meny!
ES_DiVerfiy failed!

Am I screwed?
?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Brought to you by Raycon