Help! R4 freezes at loading screen

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Goochee64, May 21, 2008.

May 21, 2008
  1. Goochee64
    OP

    Newcomer Goochee64 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Sth Aust
    Country:
    Australia
    One of my kids R4s freezes at the loading screen. If I put the sd into the other kids R4 all works fine. If I put the suspect R4 into another DS it still freezes at the loading screen.

    I reformated the sd but still no luck.

    Has anyone had this problem and have you been able to solve it? Or is it time to buy a new card?

    Cheers
     
  2. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I understand that your microSD (according to you) works fine with another R4 but not with your child's R4, is that correct?

    But, look at your sentence here:
    "If I put the suspect R4 into another DS..."
    the problem is: this leads us into a branch of info: you used the same microSD with your R4 in another NDS. This causes the source of problem might be 2:

    1. It's the R4 that is broken
    2. It's the other NDS that is broken.

    Can't tell you much info, please tell us more info regarding your R4 and the testing NDS
     
  3. Goochee64
    OP

    Newcomer Goochee64 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Sth Aust
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the reply

    I also put the good R4 into the other DS and all worked fine.

    I have cleaned the contacts on the faulty R4 also. Still not loading.

    Looking like the R4 is faulty.
     
  4. Tikker

    Member Tikker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Canada
    try loading the r4 up without a microSD card in it

    if the R4 is toast, it should still get stuck on the "Loading..." screen

    if it complains about can't detect trans flash, then your microSD is probably boned
     
  5. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    agreed with Tikker. Also, I want to ask you one thing: which loading screen freezes? Is it the loading screen of R4 or the loading screen of the game? If the R4 kernel works fine, then the ROM might be the problem all along
     

Share This Page