Help! PSTV black screen for awhile like it's bricked, but always eventually boots.

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Hacking & Homebrew' started by fw4210, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    So this is odd, and I would like to fix it.

    Whenever I want to use my PSTV and turn it on. It starts out black screened for a while, but eventually finds it's way to the home menu.
    The time it takes varies, sometimes it will take almost an hour, other times 5-10 minutes, it is weird for sure. Also it will do the same thing from sleep mode as well.

    Other than this odd and very annoying quirk everything works fine. I use the PSTV mostly for Adrenaline.

    I have everything installed on a USB Flash drive, and whether that is plugged in or not, the results are the same. Henkaku 3.65. Spoofed version 3.69

    Anyone have an idea on how to fix it?

    PS I am a noob to all of this, and need things explained very simply, and very plainly.
     
  2. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Sep 19, 2018
    United States
    Sounds like it could be a plugin issue
     
  3. Vinceherman

    Vinceherman GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Feb 9, 2018
    United Kingdom
    ok whilst you have everything on the flash drive, you should have your plugins setup in the internal PSTV memory ur0 so the delay will occur regardless of whether your flash drive is inserted or not

    can you go into Vitashell, ur0/tai and open up the config.txt document and copy and paste it in this thread

    also if you can take a photo of the files located in the ur0/tai folder and post that it should help us work out what's wrong

    also try holding down L and R whilst it's taking ages to boot, does it load up straight away then?
     
  4. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    Thank you for the reply. This will definitely be the best way to trouble shoot it. I will post the info on Friday when I have time. (About 24 hours from now.)
     
  5. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    1) I cannot hold L&R because the controller will not connect, the DS3 just blinks until the homescreen is reached.



    2) ur0:tai/config.txt

    *KERNEL
    ux0:app/PSPEMUCFW/sce_module/adrenaline_kernel.skprx
    ur0:tai/storagemgr.skprx
    ur0:tai/nonpdrm.skprx
    ur0:tai/kuio.skprx

    *main
    ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx
    ur0:tai/shellbat.suprx
    ur0:tai/pngshots.suprx
    ur0:tai/download_enabler.suprx

    *NPXS10015
    ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx

    *NPXS10016
    ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx

    *!PSPEMUCFW
    *ALL
    ur0:tai/vsh.suprx



    3) ur0:tai/ folder
    20190615_111445.
     
    Last edited by fw4210, Jun 15, 2019
  6. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Sep 19, 2018
    United States
    I think vsh plugin might be causing the issue try deleting it and it's line in config.txt

    Also pngshots is typo right? Should be no s at the end.

    Also put storagemgr line above the adrenaline_kernal line in config.txt
     
    Vinceherman likes this.
  7. Vinceherman

    Vinceherman GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Feb 9, 2018
    United Kingdom
    yeah you have two plugins causing a conflict with each other or a plugin that can't load, kaymynd has got you sorted out there

    if you still have issues post your storage manager config file details

    On the Vita you can just hold down the shoulder buttons (or maybe just R) to bypass the plugins, on the PSTV I forgot the controller doesn't connect until loading, however you can just hold down the power button for like 10-15 secs to enter recovery menu and just load the system from there, or have the controller connected via USB cable (use a hub if you need to load ux0 from usb)
     
    Last edited by Vinceherman, Jun 15, 2019
  8. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    Yeah, that is a typo there is no "s" on the end of pngshot.suprx

    Noob question #1

    Are you refering to vsh.suprx? Before I delete it what is it?

    Noob question #2

    Do I edit the config.txt right on the PSTV or is it easier to do on the PC? It won't let me copy & paste the storagemgr line on the PSTV, and move it above the adrenaline_kernal line, which would be so easy to do if it would let me, what am I missing here?
     
    kaymynd likes this.
  9. Vinceherman

    Vinceherman GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Feb 9, 2018
    United Kingdom
    easiest to edit the config.txt file via Vitashell on your PC

    delete the vsh.suprx plugin line from the config.txt, that plugin was replaced with kuio which you have setup - most likely causing a conflict
     
    kaymynd likes this.
  10. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Sep 19, 2018
    United States
    Yup just like vincherman says vsh plugin is outdated and replaced so it's causing a conflict

    And you can edit straight from vitashell just cut the line and paste wherever you want. When pasting it will always go below the line you are highlighting.
     
    Vinceherman likes this.
  11. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    It didn't fix it. I am waiting for it to find it's way to the homescreen. (Let's hope it does.)

    I had to manually add the new line. Cut, Copy, and Paste was blanked out for whatever reason.

    It now looks like this:

    ur0:tai/config.txt

    *KERNEL
    ur0:tai/storagemgr.skprx
    ux0:app/PSPEMUCFW/sce_module/adrenaline_kernel.skprx
    ur0:tai/nonpdrm.skprx
    ur0:tai/kuio.skprx

    *main
    ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx
    ur0:tai/shellbat.suprx
    ur0:tai/pngshot.suprx
    ur0:tai/download_enabler.suprx

    *NPXS10015
    ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx

    *NPXS10016
    ur0:tai/henkaku.suprx

    *!PSPEMUCFW
    *ALL


    I also deleted vsh.suprx from the /tai folder.


    It finally booted. It took about 15 mins.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Noob Question #3

    Where do I find that, which file specifically?
     
  12. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Sep 19, 2018
    United States
    Dang that's pretty long boot time i don't know why it could be taking so long besides plugin issue or you having multiple tai folders

    Try removing the *!pspemucfw line it could be conflicting with the adrenaline plugin.

    Also post your storagemgr config, that may potentially be causing the issue as well.
     
    Last edited by kaymynd, Jun 15, 2019
  13. Vinceherman

    Vinceherman GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Feb 9, 2018
    United Kingdom

    open the storage_config.txt file here

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I will load up my PSTV tomorrow and post the tai folder info and plugins you can just copy & paste across, should fix any issues
     
  14. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    Okay.

    Here is what the file says anyway.

    ur0:tai/storage_config.txt

    0000
    0001 INT=imc0
    0002 UMA=ux0
    0003
     
  15. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Sep 19, 2018
    United States
    Are you using a sony memory card? Or just the internal? You should leave the internal blank unless you don't have a sony mem card then set it to uma0 instead of imc0
     
    Last edited by kaymynd, Jun 15, 2019
  16. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    I have a 4GB official memory card. I popped it out to check to make sure, and now it is re-booting.

    So you're saying I should change -->

    0001 INT=imc0

    to -->

    0001 INT=uma0
     
  17. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Sep 19, 2018
    United States
    Since you have a sony mem card add MCD=uma0 to it and delete the empty spaces.
    You can leave INT=imc0 if you want but it's not necessary you can delete that line if you don't use the space.


    You can edit the storagemgr config in autoplugin app to make it easier as well.
     
    Last edited by kaymynd, Jun 15, 2019
  18. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    So it now is:

    0000 MCD=uma0
    0001 INT=imc0
    0002 UMA=ux0

    Good?
     
  19. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    4
    Sep 19, 2018
    United States
    Yea looks good! Idk of anything else that could be delaying the boot so long.
     
  20. fw4210
    OP

    fw4210 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 11, 2019
    United States
    It should be fixed now.

    I just rebooted three times, and each time it took about 15-20 secs.

    I will boot it up again tonight after I get home, and tomorrow to see if it remains this way.

    So far so good though. :D

    Thx guys for the excellent, and timely assistance.
     
    Vinceherman and kaymynd like this.
Loading...