Help please...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Davess, Oct 8, 2009.

Oct 8, 2009

Help please... by Davess at 1:12 AM (2,725 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. Davess
    OP

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    the dam updater bricked my wii so here is my story...

    Preloader, bootmii (boot2), nand backup.

    so why am i here?

    i ran the updater it downloads the files installs the stuff the at part 2 it fails press a to continue fails again...

    so

    when i turn on the wii the disc drive lights up it does the ejecting sound then... a black screen with a white noise sound (its does higher pitch when i press reset, and the disc drive does take and eject discs)

    when i try too boot Preloader it does not load or bootmii (as boot2, again)

    any help here i did my research here and i am lost...

    possible full brick,

    Davess

    Ok it works we can all go home now

    thanks to all that posted!
     


  2. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    Bootmii on boot2 with a Nand Backup, you can fix it,
    just make sure the bootmii files are correct and is on the sd card
     
  3. Davess
    OP

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    i updated bootmii today (before the 4.2) for this reason files are fresh nand is old still not loading
     
  4. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    is bootmii loading? if yes can you load into HBC
     
  5. Davess
    OP

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
  6. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    Why are you posting outside of the thread about this? We could have tried to decipher what exactly your issue is. I am still not sure....

    The installer did NOT brick you, unless you powered off your console during the very last part (when it installs the system menu) or you had a power failure. There have been nearly 1000 downloads of the updater. Don't you think we'd have more cases?

    EDIT: and now you say that you have bootmii in boot2 and that is not showing up. The safe updater in no way, shape or form touches boot2. So, if your console died, you did something to it yourself [​IMG]
     
  7. Davess
    OP

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    ???

    jeez why are you so mad the brick happened after the second attempt

    ps i (tryed) updated from 3.2u to 4.2 because of sdhc support
     
  8. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    OK this is what i want you to do,

    Turn on your Wii and watch the dvd led light count how many times it flashes when you turn it on
    then post how many times it flashed
     
  9. duy64

    Member duy64 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    Make sure the setting is set to manual boot for bootmii.
     
  10. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not mad....far from it [​IMG] Just wondering why you would come into the main thread for the updater and say:

    "this dam thing bricked my wii"


    And nothing else.



    Sounds to me like a troll move honestly.
     
  11. Davess
    OP

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    i cant access bootmii so how can i
     
  12. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    Ahh, it was YOU that was mad [​IMG] Ok...


    Sounds like bootmii in boot2 is working. You should have a folder with the three necessary bootmii files on your SD card when you boot up to access it.
     
  13. duy64

    Member duy64 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    ini file from sd card
    I could upload the ini file for you, but Im at work right now
     
  14. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  15. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
  16. Davess
    OP

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks i'll try that
     
  17. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  18. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    Just remove the link after he downloads it. I almost got burned at the stake for sharing a wadded HBC once [​IMG]
     
  19. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    Sure no problem
     
  20. Davess
    OP

    Member Davess On the list :D (Thanks Haflore)

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    __________________ Posts: 9326
    Country:
    Canada
    hmmm... this excites me the bootmii loads (as well as the press a to continue but it freezes) so it is a semi-brick and one last question

    where does nand.bin go???
     

Share This Page