Help playing backup discs in red wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ferrazoli, Nov 19, 2011.

Nov 19, 2011
  1. ferrazoli
    OP

    Newcomer ferrazoli Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Brazil
    Ok so my friend bought that f**king red wii
    It came as 4.3U

    So what I did was use ModMii and so I installed HBC on it using Letterbomb and did some basic IOS and cIOS installing and...

    Ouch, burned DVDs won't work....


    I haven't tried USB game loading as he does not want it

    So, anyone can help me?
     
  2. markehmus

    Member markehmus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    891
    Location:
    in the GAME
    Country:
    Canada
  3. zfa

    Member zfa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Australia
    Why would anyone NOT want USB loading!?!?

    It's easier to talk him into USB loading than fixing the drive IMHO. And once he's used USB loading he'll reliase how much better it is and thank you for it.
     
  4. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Forget Discs, it's not possible.
    USB, it's 200% better.
     
  5. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    Maybe he has a ton of GC backups, in which case USB loading wont help him.

    Anyway, Markehmus explained it pretty good. You need to replace the dvd drive chip with an older model.
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If he had tons of GC backups, i recommend getting a drive + a really good chip, or a WODE.
     
  7. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    Why a chip? Thats not needed. And a wode is far more expensive than a new(old) dvd drive chip.
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Because a chip is the only way to get audio streaming to work. And there are 2-3 not working gamecube games in NeoGamma.
     
  9. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    errrrrr...... what? No chip I have seen supports audio streaming on GC games. I think you have it mixed up...
     
  10. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Dude you are talking to Wiipower THE GUY WICH WROTE NEOGAMMA.
    I think he knows a thing or two...
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I just know that there are good modchip that support gamecube audio streaming, but the info on this is really rare. Apparently some old WiiKey firmware does it, but not the latest for example. And the features of half modchips list "fix for gamecube audio streaming", which sounds really bad, expected would be "support for gamecube audio streaming", fix could mean that the games are played without them.
     
  12. TerraPhantm

    Member TerraPhantm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a list of games that use audio streaming?
     
  13. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Starfox Adventures is one of them.
     
  14. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Gamecube_Backup_Launcher_Compatibility_List

    All games that list missing audio, or "doesn't work shrunk" or "doesn't work on multi game discs"(
     

Share This Page