Help patching Wii de Asobu Metroid Prime to English?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by davidsl_128, May 14, 2009.

  1. davidsl_128
    OP

    Member davidsl_128 GBAtemp Brightsider

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Country:
    Colombia
    I was wondering what do I have to do to patch the Japanese New Play Control Metroid Prime to English. Do I need a special patch? Or is it enough to change the default language of the ISO with a tool?
     


  2. jarock

    Member jarock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Ireland
     
  3. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    There is a .ppf file that does it though
     
  4. davidsl_128
    OP

    Member davidsl_128 GBAtemp Brightsider

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Country:
    Colombia
    I googled Metroid wii ppf and I found it! Thanks [​IMG]
     
  5. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,933
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    *drools* a remade version of the best metroid game ever? O.O wow... *continues drooling*

    I need to keep up with the games.
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    All you need to do is to switch ENGL and JAPN with a hexeditor in the main.dol and 1 or 2 of the other .dols. If you want to patch to another language, switch JAPN and the characters for the other language. You need to patch the .dols before burning, an on the fly patch doesn't work, because it's not only the main.dol that has to be changed.
     
  7. The_Hulkster

    Member The_Hulkster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    Call me ignorant but may I ask what's so special about this version as opposed to the oh let's say, English version?

    edit:
    Never mind, I get it. It hasn't been released yet.
    First I thought it was Metroid Prime 3 but when I googled I noticed "de Asobu" stands for New Play Control.
     
  8. davidsl_128
    OP

    Member davidsl_128 GBAtemp Brightsider

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Country:
    Colombia
    Yay it works [​IMG] I have a question though. When I start a new game half of the screen turns green. I heard that this has to do with IOS fake signing. I'm on Wanin 4.0 system right now, what do I need to install to make the IOSes fake-signable [​IMG] ?
     
  9. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Use the IOS Downgrader 1
     
  10. davidsl_128
    OP

    Member davidsl_128 GBAtemp Brightsider

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Country:
    Colombia
    I'll try that thanks [​IMG]
     
  11. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You also need to patch it to run off of IOS249 if you don't have CIOSCORP installed. Also, it doesn't work in the USB Loader yet.
     
  12. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    1. You need to play the game from disc, it's not compatible AT ALL with usb loaders at the moment
    2. You need to patch the game to use IOS249, or have cioscorp installed, or else you get the result you described.
    (if you have a modchip, then indeed, you need the fakesiging bug in your IOS to get the game to work, but patching to IOS249 would work too for you)
     
  13. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    How do you patch the game to IOS 249? :S
     
  14. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
  15. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    Ah, thanks. [​IMG]
     
  16. feidhlim1986

    Member feidhlim1986 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Ireland
    An English patched ISO has been out for a good while, I've downloaded it and played through it months ago.
     
  17. bytor

    Member bytor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've downloaded it, Brick Blocked it and patched it to IOS249 but it still brings me back to BootMii and the System Menu. However, it does access the DVD for a bit longer before it crashes. I have a PAL Wiikey Wii running Waninkoko's 4.0 firmware and can run Trucha Signed discs without a problem. Is BootMii causing a problem do you think..?
     
  18. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Game patched to IOS249, modchip... hmm do you have an IOS249? If not the game will reboot at that specific point.
     
  19. bytor

    Member bytor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not too sure. Could you let me know how I can find out and how I can get it please..?
     
  20. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    How to check:
    With AnyTitleDeleter, WAD Manager and SoftChip, pretty obvious how to check with these applications, once they are started

    How to install:
    Install a cIOS(rev 7 or later), which one should not matter for you. cIOS are always installed as IOS249 if nothing different is stated.
     

Share This Page