Not open for further replies.

sykeitzstan

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello, I've just recently registered here at GBAtemp.net and I would like to ask a few questions.

I've been wanting to translate a game called "Bokujou Monogatari - Futago no Mura" which is one of the Harvest Moon series.

Here I'm not saying I can do a full translation nor am I saying its simple or easy, in fact, I know it's more complicated than simple.

But I've searched through google and many other sites besides this and have found only those who would redirect me to another site that will either fail to open, outdated, or with no directions on how to at all.

From my previous searches I've come to know that I need some basic Hex Editing knowledge. I won't say I'm an expert, I can't even say I'm an intermediate, but I have hex edited before.

I did search youtube and I did find something about editing Nintendo DS Rom Text, but it did not work as the video showed me. (he simply changed some words in the hex editor)

So now I'm here trying to learn how to translate a japanese Nintendo DS rom to english.

No, I do not know how to read japanese.

No, I do not know how to edit the text inside the Roms.

That is why I'm here, I'm simply going to use google translator to translate the Japanese words.

Just please tell me how to even do that.

I don't care if the english is going to be scribble. Just teach me how to translate it with google translator. Thanks.

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Trophies
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
Country
United States
Ah, the first step is to use a program like DSLazy which can unpack a DS ROM and let you get at the individual files inside it!

It's those resource files which can directly contain the text/graphics (though compression and encoding schemes vary and can be hard to figure out).

sykeitzstan

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks for the fast reply