[Help] New 3DS XL with no sound with (possibly) water damage

AveX9

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
So as the title says, I've got a pearl white new 3ds xl from Japan with a particular quirk, it has no sound whatsoever.
Usually I bet on a damaged speaker/ flex cable so I replaced the screen (it was bad too) and the speaker+3D Flex cable for a working one (yes, i tested it beforehand on another unit). Turned on the console and no sound. I plugged some headphones (which I was expecting to work) and still no sound. I visually inspected the board and found some gunk near two ICs (see pics). One is next to the headphone jack and the other is neat the cartridge slot FTP connector.

All I need to know is:
  • Which is the chip in charge of sound in the New 3ds (I've got many donors so I can harvest one if necessary)
  • Has anyone experienced this? How fixable do you guys think this is?

I'm not an electrical engineer but I'm a technician so I'm kind of lost as to which one I could blame and what to do next as I don't usually deal with water-damaged consoles. Please note that everything else works fine.

Help me please 🥺
1667424626764.png
1667424641589.png

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
So as the title says, I've got a pearl white new 3ds xl from Japan with a particular quirk, it has no sound whatsoever.
Usually I bet on a damaged speaker/ flex cable so I replaced the screen (it was bad too) and the speaker+3D Flex cable for a working one (yes, i tested it beforehand on another unit). Turned on the console and no sound. I plugged some headphones (which I was expecting to work) and still no sound. I visually inspected the board and found some gunk near two ICs (see pics). One is next to the headphone jack and the other is neat the cartridge slot FTP connector.

All I need to know is:
  • Which is the chip in charge of sound in the New 3ds (I've got many donors so I can harvest one if necessary)