Help needed with my new G6 lite

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by inter4ever, Aug 19, 2006.

Aug 19, 2006
  1. inter4ever
    OP

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    I got my G6 lite today.I tried it and it worked perfectly.I copied several games and tried them and i connected it to the PC about 3 times.I followed every step in order to not corrupt it,however,suddenly i tried it and it hanged with G6 Touchpod on the top screen.In GBA mode,it shows the green disclaimer,and then hangs on a blank screen,i tired to reinstall the update but it gave me numbers after selecting yes.I formatted it 3 times using MPU and following the exact instructions in the help file but it was useless.I cant get it to work
    what should I do?
     
  2. g.crow

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    sorry that really sounds like its broken.
    stay calm and exchange it, you tried everything you could.

    mars
     
  3. inter4ever
    OP

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Well i got it from hopebuy and its situated in China so I want to know if there is any way i can recover my G6,if not then ki will have to return it.
     
  4. ds6220

    Member ds6220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    well, I would try one more time. 1st, format it using FAT16. Now that there is nothing on the card put the latest firmware files on the blank card (find them here) and then without the passcard (or whatever pass device you have) put it in the DS, turn it on and hold down start, select, B, and B at the same time as you first see the green text. select yes to update. after that try loading a few roms on using the latest U-Disk manager (again here). if it freezez at the g6 touchpad logo with a blank lower screen then you could have a corrupt rom on. Remove one at a time and try it again. I have run into a few of my own roms that lock it up at the g6 logo and after I took it off it loaded again (I have the Chinese G6 Lite and have had to format it myself due to a few odd things that happened.)
     
  5. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    A little offtopic, but if it is broken does he/she will have to pay for the shipping charges?
     
  6. g.crow

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    i think if you have to pay the charges depends on the laws of the country the dealer is located.
    dont know how the situation is handled in china.

    mars
     
  7. inter4ever
    OP

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    I am now formatting it again but with my laptop this time.I will try your method if it didnt work after MPU on the laptop.
     
  8. inter4ever
    OP

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    ds6220 your method didnt work
    Does anybody have any idea on how to fix it,i get 1 when i try to update the software and its still hangs on the touchpod screen
    Edit: I even tried FAT 32 after trying FAT 16 for 6 times with no results and it is still not working.
    Do you think that changing the case might help(i never removed it or changed cases since it already came installed in the black case)
     
  9. DrTek

    Member DrTek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Germany
    maybe praying to god might help hehe
    exchanging the case would do nothing
    since its of no technical use other than
    protecting the circuits.

    sounds like you destroyed your card
    through electrostatic charged fingers
     
  10. inter4ever
    OP

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Well i though it might be because of the pins are moved a little or misaligned because a member has experienced this before.
    I might try it tomorrow as my last resort and if it didnt work then it seems I have to return it(and i think i will pay for shipping it back and he might even return it in normal shipping that takes much time [​IMG]
    Edit: First i never toched the PCB directly(as i never changed the cover) so i don't think it was damaged.Second if it was damaged like that i think it shouldn't even be able to boot.
    Any way to access the 16mb flash so i might be able to restore it(i think the problem os from the loader)
     
  11. Falkentyne

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have instant messenger?

    Try this:
    1) Format it in windows with FAT 16.
    2) After formatting in windows, use the "maintenence Utility" from the g6flash.com website.
    then I think you can choose "low level format". Choose it. This may take between 15-30 minutes.
    then have the utility install the basic software on the card (it should do this; though I have not used this utility).

    Once this is done, (or maybe BEFORE you get to that step)--this is after the low level format, Windows may say that the device is unrecognized. That's all right; Use safely remove hardware icon in your taskbar (if it is even there) and remove the G6 drive, then reconnect it back to the USB cord. Windows should redetect it correctly. Once the maintence utility installs the software, the card should be working just fine.

    Then to update to a newer firmware, extract the files (if you are extracting from the RAR file directly, do NOT choose "extract with subfolders") directly to the root folder on the G6 drive, and make sure it's in the root folder.

    This should work for you; it worked for another person who had the same problems you had, but when he followed my steps to the letter, he had a working G6 Lite.
     
  12. inter4ever
    OP

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Falkentyne pease check PM
     
  13. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    Please let us know if that worked, maybe this can fix the corruption problems.
     
  14. Falkentyne

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    He wasn't able to get it to work.
    And unfortunately, no definite idea why it got corrupted in the first place...
     
  15. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
    make sure you have the right lang as well.
     
  16. WishCow

    Newcomer WishCow Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Hungary
    But this sucks... he got a faulty product from the store, and he has to send it back on his own charges? This is definitely not right.
     
  17. inter4ever
    OP

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    delta123 its the english version and i installed the english update which worked however the cart now doesnt even boot and doesnt allow me to update the loader.
     
  18. XxMxVxPxX

    Member XxMxVxPxX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    reformat it. use the update that came on the cd. then try to load it. dont put any roms on it. try that
     
  19. inter4ever
    OP

    Member inter4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    XxMxVxPxX your method didn't work.
    It seems i will be returning it afterall.
     

Share This Page