Hacking Homebrew Help moving from SXOS to atmosphere -- games crashes

ayorlia

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
10
Country
France
Hi

I've finally decided to move from sxos to atmosphere.
Thanks to all the information found, I've managed to deploy atmosphere 1.2.4 with last sigpatches (checked many times) with hekate 5.6.5 and emunand/emummc firmware 13.1.0.
I've also upgraded sysnand to 13.1.0. (I don't play online and my account is already banned :( )

When I launched Atmosphere through SXOS with dongle and hekate, I had an error saying: "failed to get TSEC keys"
So I've set up a boot.dat by converting fusee.bin with sx-custom-boot.dat-maker and then Atmosphere started fine with SXOS dongle.
The OS displayed by the system menu is : 13.1.0 | AMS 1.2.4 | S


The problem is that many games refuses to start (SSBU, nickelodeon brawl, beat me).
I've got a message telling : game can't start, retry from home menu. (sorry it's not the exact term, source is in french).
Other games started fine (golf story, tower of babel).

I'm tired of 2 days trying everything to make it works:
  1. download sigpatches from other sources or directly from apps
  2. install with tinfoil, goldleaf, awoo with different settings:
    1. with/without version check
    2. with without rewrite NCA
    3. on nand/on SD
  3. delete all the games (not the backups) from system and reinstall
  4. delete all the games (not the backups) from system and reinstall with a new empty sd card (without emmunand)
  5. Test with other nsp to check if all games fail or not

Conclusion of point 2 tests
: I managed to make SSBU with update 13.0 works (Tinfoil install without version check) BUT after ATM reboot the error came back. (I just wanted to throw the switch against the wall ... :cry:). If only we could have an error log to debug these game crashes... :(
Conclusion of point 4: I don't understand why and how but when I put a new empty SD, all the games I deleted from the system came back. Maybe it means I was on emmunand and with the new SD I get on the sysnand ??

The last test I wanted to do is to factory reset the switch and retry to install.
Just before that I wanted to ask if someone could please help, it would be reeeeeeaaaaalllly helpful.
 

ayorlia

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Nov 14, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
10
Country
France
Hi

I finally managed to get it works :D
I followed the guide "How to fix switch games not booting after a FW/CFW update"
At the step install the game from a different source, I tried another time to install it with tinfoil with FW bypass and bingo SSBU v13 worked even after reboot. Then I installed other games with DBI and for now everything works fine.

Thank you very much for this guide :yayswitch:
 

klaus11

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 30, 2021
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
14
Country
Austria
Hi!
I am also on SX OS 1.3, installed hekate 5.6.5 and atmosphere 1.2.4-master
My switch OFW stands on 7.0.1
Did you update that without booting in sx os ? I thought sx pro is not compatible to boot with FW 13.1.0 ?
Is there an update necessary when using sigpatches and tinfoil?

At least many games work, but not all. For example Super Mario 3D World.
can you please explain where in tinfoil the FW bypass can be setup before installing ?
What do you mean you installed games with DBI?
Thanks,
 

sh2dc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
190
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
331
Country
United States
Hi!
I am also on SX OS 1.3, installed hekate 5.6.5 and atmosphere 1.2.4-master
My switch OFW stands on 7.0.1
Did you update that without booting in sx os ? I thought sx pro is not compatible to boot with FW 13.1.0 ?
Is there an update necessary when using sigpatches and tinfoil?

At least many games work, but not all. For example Super Mario 3D World.
can you please explain where in tinfoil the FW bypass can be setup before installing ?
What do you mean you installed games with DBI?
Thanks,
https://gbatemp.net/threads/such-a-...le-free-noob-friendly-plan-set-up-ams.603029/


So sir you mean you can config ams cfw in 5 mins from sx os with HATS?
 

klaus11

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 30, 2021
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
14
Country
Austria
https://gbatemp.net/threads/such-a-...le-free-noob-friendly-plan-set-up-ams.603029/


So sir you mean you can config ams cfw in 5 mins from sx os with HATS?
yes thats right. format your SD, put HATS content on it, and enjoy. your sx pro dongle also works, without putting license file on it...

the only problem: if you are on an older firmware in sysnand, not all games will work.
updating can cause a ban, because you just made tracks when you installed CFS on sysnand...
 

sh2dc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
190
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
331
Country
United States
yes thats right. format your SD, put HATS content on it, and enjoy. your sx pro dongle also works, without putting license file on it...

the only problem: if you are on an older firmware in sysnand, not all games will work.
updating can cause a ban, because you just made tracks when you installed CFS on sysnand...
I understand you


I got last sx os emunand 10-11.0 cfw version


But if newest ams cfw is 13.0
I need create another 32 GB ams Emummc on SD card right??
Then sx os and ams can share everything already installed on this sd card?

Like dying light can't boot on sx os 11.0 cfw
But it will boot on ams 13.0 cfw

They can both use dying light installed on this SD card right?

Just firmware version different.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,038
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,388
Country
United States
I understand you


I got last sx os emunand 10-11.0 cfw version


But if newest ams cfw is 13.0
I need create another 32 GB ams Emummc on SD card right??
Then sx os and ams can share everything already installed on this sd card?

Like dying light can't boot on sx os 11.0 cfw
But it will boot on ams 13.0 cfw

They can both use dying light installed on this SD card right?

Just firmware version different.
Yes.
 

sh2dc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
190
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
331
Country
United States
OK I read

https://rentry.org/mys8q


Now I understand it could be super easy



I was use "sx os emunand on file" with switch's SD card


Not hide - partition


So dual boot sx os and ams on same sd card basically cant be done


I won't create any hide - partition emunand or emummc



However

Because I want newest game running so i must use 13.0-13.2 firmware


So I need create another 32 GB ams 13.0-13.2 firmware Emummc( just like sx os emunand ) on another SD card right??



=========


https://rentry.org/mys8q



This guide work on file-based sx os emunand?


If it work

I can just copy my entire SD card emunand to a new SD card

Then I update this new sd card emunand to 13.2?!


This way I can keep one SD card with old sx os ( with all the save/ game / cheat )


Then Migrate sx os emunand 13.2 to ams emummc on new SD card?


I will get 13.2 running on ams

And all the game needs to be reinstall?!


All the save / cheat no longer can be use?!


Right?


==========


Hmm



Sorry for late reply


I must update sx os emunand firmware to 13.2 first


Before use this guide right?

https://rentry.org/mys8q





I use sx os emunand 10-11.0


So once I updated 13.2 firmware on SD card sx os will unable to boot


Then I put all the file from " https://rentry.org/mys8q " said to SD card


I get 13.2 running after use hekate migrate this emunand to emummc?


Right?



All the game/ save locate on old sx os cfw 10-11.0 etc will be gone once I use ams? Right?!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: lol