[Help!] Mother 3 VC Injection works but won’t run after installation

Treadmark Jun 6, 2019.

  1. Treadmark
    OP

    Treadmark Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 6, 2019
    United States
    this is an odd issue and the only rom I am having an issue with I’ve grabbed multiple mother 3 copies from multiple sources and tried a non translated and translated copy but after successfully injecting the rom into a cia using NSUI and installing the cia using fbi I keep getting the Error has Occurred crash message when I try to run the game, the rom runs fine through the mgba emulator is only after injection this happens and only this game, any suggestions as to why? Could it have something to do with using a New 3DS XL model?
     
  2. Darukeru

    Darukeru Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Apr 30, 2016
    Mexico
    No, I have plenty of gba cias in a New 3ds, they all run perfectly, the console model isn't the problem.
    The problem could be the rom size, do you have any other 32 mb gba roms injected? I don't remember clearly but in certain scenarios the 3ds isn't able to load 32 mb game cias. If I remember correctly the Luma option to show gba bios could be the cause of this problem. Another possible cause could be your sd card cluster size, this affects directly the way the 3ds boots the gba vc injects.
     
  3. Treadmark
    OP

    Treadmark Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 6, 2019
    United States
    Thanks! I think I know what to look for now I’ll try a few things
     
  4. cots

    cots GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    9
    Dec 29, 2014
    United States
    It's been quite some time since I wrote this app so I don't even remember if there is a size limit to the ROM you can use, but it might work for you instead of the Ultimate Injector. Note that you'll have to obtain a source CIA and supposedly, we're not supposed to include the copyrighted emulator on this site, but the Ultimate Injector does, so, I dunno. I was warned not to include it, so you'll have to find a source CIA.

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-basicgbainjector-inject-play-gba-roms-on-your-3ds.437950/
     
  5. Treadmark
    OP

    Treadmark Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 6, 2019
    United States
    Actually now that I think on it Kingdom Hearts COM runs fine and is a 32mb injected one, the Luma option causing the problem you mentioned is there a fix I could try?
     
  6. Darukeru

    Darukeru Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Apr 30, 2016
    Mexico
    Well, if the option "Show GBA bios screen on boot" in luma settings is enabled some of my 32 mb games get stuck in the gba bios screen, or crash. But disabling that option all of my games run perfect. Did you already tried disabling this option?
     
  7. Treadmark
    OP

    Treadmark Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 6, 2019
    United States
    No and this is going to sound incredibly stupid but where can I find that option exactly? I looked in the startup setting in Luma but couldn't see it.
     
  8. Darukeru

    Darukeru Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Apr 30, 2016
    Mexico
    It should be there, it is the sixth option. This link describes the options in detail:

    https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Optional-features
     
  9. Treadmark
    OP

    Treadmark Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 6, 2019
    United States
    Enabled then Disabled it just to be safe but no luck, started it up blank screen for a moment or 2 then right to An Error has occured. Press and Hold power button. It worked once however when I had the option enabled and only the non patched one. But after closing and trying it again no luck.
     
  10. Darukeru

    Darukeru Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Apr 30, 2016
    Mexico
    Do you have custom themes or something like that in your console?
    Or maybe your patched cia is corrupt, you could try downloading it from somewhere else, I have it installed and it boots without any problems. Or as I mentioned before, the problem could be related to your sd card.
     
  11. 98otiss

    98otiss irrelevant foxcoon

    Member
    7
    Aug 22, 2015
    Canada
    Metaverse
    im not surprised it doesnt work. the translated game is very hacky
     
    Last edited by 98otiss, Jun 8, 2019
  12. Treadmark
    OP

    Treadmark Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 6, 2019
    United States
    I have a spare 4gb card laying around I could try, the one i use now is a 32gb let me give that a try and see what happens....
     
  13. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh.

    Member
    12
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    1. Find a clean version of the original Mother 3 (J) GBA rom. You want the Japanese copy that has the CRC-32 hash (42AC9CB9).
    2. Patch the rom using this English translation.
    3. Make a GBA VC injection using New Super Ultimate Injector.
      1. File → Game Boy Advance CIA
      2. Project → Load ROM...Mother 3.gba
      3. When asked to "manually search the missing data?", click YesMother 3 (Japan) → Add info.
      4. CIA metadata, Download Title Screen from database: Fit image by width
      5. CIA banner, Download Title Screen from database: Fit image by height
      6. Game patches and extras, ROM save type: Flash 512k (Panasonic, ID: 0x1B32)
      7. Injection method: GBA Virtual Console
      8. Click on the Virtual Console banner box found below the purple cartridge.
      9. In the Banner text (2) subfield, delete the text Released: 2006.
      10. Select font (1), input the below settings, and press OK.
        • Font: SCE-PS3 Rodin LATIN
        • Font Style: Bold
        • Size: 14
      11. Project → Export CIA...Mother 3.cia Save.
    4. Install the CIA on the 3DS with FBI.

    If the game still crashes on your 3DS, you'll need to troubleshoot your SD card and/or 3DS firmware.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jun 8, 2019
    RareWare likes this.
  14. ThoD

    ThoD GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"

    Member
    11
    Sep 8, 2017
    Greece
    Patch the GBA game yourself, don't get pre-patched ones and make sure your SD card is correctly formatted and has no errors/corruptions. Mother 3 works just fine, both translated (v1.2) and without translation, so it's definitely an issue on your end. If NSUI isn't working, try the one @cots linked, as I used that one when making my CIA for Mother 3. That one works pretty badly on many PCs unfortunately with random errors and whatnot, but if you can make the CIA still then it should be working. If neither of them work then it's definitely the SD card.
     
  15. cots

    cots GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    9
    Dec 29, 2014
    United States
    My injector should work fine under Windows 7 as long as you remember to install the .net framework. Not sure how it runs under 10 though. If you get any errors run it as an administrator.
     
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...