help me with a 3.3 kor wii brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by flyod rose, Dec 19, 2009.

Dec 19, 2009
  1. flyod rose
    OP

    Newcomer flyod rose Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    hello people,

    i bought my daughter a nintendo wii pre chipped 3 months ago.she was really enjoying it but a week ago she said she inserted a game disk given by her friend and the wii stopped working.

    that was her part.then i researched a bit and came to know the following things

    1>it has a wiitop modchip installed with korean setting on the jumper
    2>it is banner bricked as there is blank screen after health warning screen
    3>i used savemefrii and it booted to rescue screen with firmware 3.3(kor) at the bottom.
    4>i tried rescue discs to game discs but nothing worked......the disc will spin for about 30 sec and stops....i even tried to update firmware to 3.4 by using fifa 10 dvd but no luck

    sorry but i searched for about a week to resolve it but nothing helped.

    i didnt tried modding it as my daughter was happy with what she got.so it has no tp hack,no HBC,no bootmii.....nothing
    it is just a korean wii with wiitop modchip on it and nothing else.i can go through a very tricky and complex process as i cant send it to nintendo as i am outside US now.also i am familiar with both software & hardware mod .

    also somewhere i read that 3.3 without tp hack cannot be unbricked.is it true?if so will reflashing NAND help?
    help my daughter is killing me [​IMG]
     
  2. flyod rose
    OP

    Newcomer flyod rose Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    hello there....is there anyone who can help me out.Please i need it real quick
     
  3. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,940
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    are you sure it is banner bricked?
    What was the last thing you did?
     
  4. flyod rose
    OP

    Newcomer flyod rose Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    yes i am sure it is banner bricked. my daughters friend downloaded her a game and burned it but dont know which region.i guess it auto updated the wad giving the black screen after i press a at the health screen.
     
  5. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    set the modchip to autoboot whatever you stick in there. then get a DVD with either wad manager, homebrew channel, any title deleter, ect and you wil be able to use one of the above to delete whatever you think the malformed banner is. you can also get a DVD set to boot the wii menu right to the settings and delete shit from there. just dont delete anything other than the 00010001 stuff if you go the ATD route.
     
  6. flyod rose
    OP

    Newcomer flyod rose Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    thanks giantpune.
    but i dont know how to put wiitop modchip in autoboot mode.it says it will autoboot everything but whenever i put any games dvd it does not boot.same with the unbrick discs

    also the firmware is 3.3 so there is no turcha bug
    will it effect anyway
     
  7. skk-depth

    Newcomer skk-depth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany
    wiitop seems to be wasabi clone, but don't know which version. You could try to go into configuration mode and enable autoboot from there. For WasabiDX you go into config mode when resetting console and pressing 3 times eject. Otherwise if i's different, then you need to find out how to reach wiitop config menu and enable autobot.
     
  8. flyod rose
    OP

    Newcomer flyod rose Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    @skk-depth
    sorry for late reply but i gave up using wii top and ordered a new autoboot enabled drive key........now my situation is

    1>i have 3.3(kor) firmware
    2>i have a autobooting drivekey
    3>my wii is banner bricked
    4>sorry,but no soft mod at all.ie my wii's ios are as is when shipped

    so can i have a easy route to unbanner brick it [​IMG]
    ive been tellin my daughter that the wii is not working because temperature is very low(winter)
     
  9. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Its unlikely to be a banner brick as most likely it was an out of region disc that required an update that was inserted into your Korean Wii. That means it would be a semi brick.
    An autobootable AnyRegion Changer ISO is what you need. What was the disc that caused the brick? It could be that it has updated even beyond 3.4 so this route might not work. Depending on what the disc was that caused the problem an original Korean disc with firmware even higher would resolve the problem (if such a disc existed at that point in time).
     
  10. flyod rose
    OP

    Newcomer flyod rose Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    sorry but i dont have another wii to see what game is it as i cannot read it from my pc and the girl that burned her the disk has already deleted the iso image....poor me!!!!!!
    @ocdetective
    in the recovery screen it shows 3.3(kor) so i guess it hasnt updated any further
    also can you suggest me any game with firmware higher than 3.3 for korea....i cannot find it on the google...
    i guess this will fix my wii
     
  11. Dmon84

    Member Dmon84 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Country:
    Germany
    The custom autoboot Discs won't help you because 3.3 got the Trucha Bug fixed i think. So you need an original korean game.
    Next time better install Bootmii or Priiloader (active Update-Blocker).

    Since you haven't got a Nand Backup/Keys the Nand restore thing is not possible.

    Your only chance would be if you already have the Twilight Hack installed on your Wii, else there is no possibility to run homebrew, i guess.
    Without homebrew you are screwed.

    If you don't get a korean game with SM > 3.3 your Wii is (full-)bricked, and even then you can't be sure that it works.
     
  12. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    A korean game with an update higher than 3.3 might help... You need to go into recovery mode and update from that said disc.

    Though this is just an optimistic assumption since the korean semi-brick is a bit different in appearance compared to pal or ntsc...

    I got a similar bricked wii from a friend a year ago but at that time there were no korean games that got 3.4 or higher updates.. So solution above is not tested, I'm not sure if it would work...

    Find kavid in this forum, he is a very knowledgeable man about these korean wiis...


    ps: Even unmodified autoboot NTSC-J Zelda didn't boot on that specific wii... I think it boots on a healthy korean wii...
     
  13. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Mario and Sonic at the Vancouver Winter Olympics Games might be your best bet as it was only released in Korea in November last year.
     
  14. flyod rose
    OP

    Newcomer flyod rose Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    i cant fing korean wii games anywhere
    any place where i can buy it or download it

    for download link:mail gnr_manjish@hotmail.com or pm

    is there any way i could inject korean wii firmware in a region changed usa game iso.i have lots of usa game iso's but cant fing even one korean games
     
  15. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    If you are on 3.3 v2 you will have to use an original game not a backup so downloading will not probably not be an option. If you cant find that game try Wii Music - Wii_Music_KOR_WII-SQUARE (for a downloadable version) that was released around the same time.
     
  16. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    I am thinking that you where updated from an out of region game, not your system menu, but perhaps your region select. Now you are stuck halfway region changed and your korean key is screwing everything up.

    Try to update to a 3.4u or 3.4e game disk. It would be good to know what region the disk was, then try to go to that region.

    The only thing that does not add up, is that the system menu was not updated, so the disk must have been less the 3.3. Now a 3.1 update will not brick a korean wii, this is the first step to region change it, via mario kart in most guides.

    Anyway, just some thoughts.

    No chance your girls friends tried to region change it? That is a good way to end up in your situation.
     
  17. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ohhh... that's a difficult situation...

    What about the trick involving filling up the system memory, then using Rabbids Go Home Disc to access the Data management Screen?

    This should work, since the chip is region free.

    Do you have any idea how much free space is left on the Wii?

    So... maybe try this:
    Acquire some games that have a very big savefile, and run them all via autoboot.
    Make a savefile for each game, which takes up more space.
    Maybe even try installing channels from discs, like Mario Kart Channel, and Wii Fit Channel to fill up more space.

    Then after you think it's full, Run Rabbids Go Home and install it's channel, and if your Wii doesn't have enough free space left, the System Menu will load and skip the main wii menu, and go straight to data management, where you can install twilight hack latest version and indiana pwns exploits, and get homebrew up and running from there.

    Give it a shot. You may have to "get" quite a few games to fill up the space though. Super Smash Bros and LEGO indiana Jones 2 have very big save files. There are 3 different versions of these 2 games, one for each region, meaning 6 big savefiles total if you get all versions of these 2 games working via autoboot.

    Tell us if you get that working.
     
  18. flyod rose
    OP

    Newcomer flyod rose Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    thanks guys
    yes i too think its half region changed...
    first the health and warning screen used to come in korean but after bricking it is comming in english
    and the game was most probably Rock'n'Roll Adventures.... [​IMG] [​IMG]
    @mauifrog
    and i think korean wiis are hard to region change as it lacks certain ios's and with a bricked wii its even harder (or impossible!!!!!!! [​IMG] ). if you could guide me id be happy to try it too...i really need it working !!
    @da_letter_a
    i think ill try that one
    thanks and ill tell what happens
     
  19. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Try to fill the nand. If you do make your way to data management, install indiana pwns while your there.
    The first thing you should do is bannerbomb- Anyregion changer mod06 for 4.1 by qk

    don't do anything but gather information at first. Check ARC and see if all of the settings are set to USA. You could just set them all back to Korean if you wish, but if you want USA wii, verify that they are all set to USA.

    Also, run signcheck and verify that you have the standard ios files installed. You probably do.

    Once you have verified the ios files are on the wii, you can change the wii back to korean, or set all the setting to usa, and install 4.1u from within ARC. You may need to install cios before doing anything.

    Let us know if you make it into data management.

    If that does not work for you, try the 3.4u disk update. I am not sure if any Korean games have system menu updates, the one I checked did not.
     
  20. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    I doubt this wii will ever autoboot a ntsc game in this state... way to go is trying to update through a higher version korean game as the game region is stuck in korean region...
     

Share This Page