Help...M3 wont play gba

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by dominos, Jan 12, 2007.

Jan 12, 2007

Help...M3 wont play gba by dominos at 9:35 PM (1,032 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. dominos
    OP

    Newcomer dominos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hi. Newbie here and I just got an M3 pro mini SD w/pass 3. I'm using newest game manager to load all games. All the DS games work fine but I cannot load/play any GBA games (or .gb or .gbc games for that matter) Every time I go to load a gba game the screen goes white. Sometimes it starts loading but never finishes. I've tried with three different DS's, two different SD cards, still no luck. GBA games go in the root dir right? Any other files need to be present? Once it told me I needed goomba (which I added to the root) but it didn't help. I always get the save dat error on reboot as well. TIA for any help! [​IMG]
     
  2. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    most likely your m3 is in a format that gba games don't like, try starting the game with start instead of a and see if it starts the game.
     
  3. dominos
    OP

    Newcomer dominos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I've tried that many times. Maybe I'll use an older firmware.
     
  4. dark_sol

    Newcomer dark_sol Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    Just in case you didn't know, the M3 has 2 modes, NDS mode and GBA mode. To get to GBA mode you gotta press start when in the NDS mode menu. The M3 should then reboot to GBA mode. Alternatively you could access the GBA mode by starting the M3 through the NDS menu where Pictochat is.

    You may already know that but just make sure.
     
  5. dominos
    OP

    Newcomer dominos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks...Yea, I eventually figured that out, too. I kept thinking I would get it going but still can't get the gba roms to load.
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    @dominos: Your avatar is way too big. (filesize)
    You're over the limit by more than a factor of 20.
     
  7. dominos
    OP

    Newcomer dominos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa...sorry!
     
  8. inovermyheadd

    Newcomer inovermyheadd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    doesn't the m3 pro have limited gba support? Maybe I'm wrong.
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The M3 pro can only run GBA games that are 4 megabytes (32 megabits) or smaller.
     
  10. dominos
    OP

    Newcomer dominos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    If this is true, that would be news to me. Link?
    However, I have been trying to run all sizes and still nothing. I have been able to get a few .gb roms working, though. So I should have chosen the M3 lite then? Except 2 of my DS's are not lite. WHat is the best for gba support using the old DS models? I am going to return this pro I guess. Thanks again for all the advice.
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    From the review of the M3 Lite Professional:
    You may be able to get a shell for the M3 lite that fits an original DS, and I think the M3 miniSD fits big DS as is. I don't actually have one, so you may not want to take my word for it. The M3 SD will probably stick out of the big DS.

    The G6 lite comes with a shell for the original DS.
     
  12. seyfer

    Newcomer seyfer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Portugal
    yes, from what i have been reading u have 2 versions for M3 if u want to play GBA games, Pro and Perfect

    Pro: isn't compatible with games with size superior to 32 Mb (=4 Mb)

    Perfect: well in perfect size isn't a problem
     

Share This Page