[HELP] Get administrator privileges on Mac w/o access to sudo

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Drew That Gamer, Sep 14, 2016.

1. Drew That Gamer
    OP

Drew That Gamer weeb

Dec 29, 2015
    United States
    Arlington, VA
    Hey guys,

I am a student looking to get the most out of his school issued mac, and was wondering how to get admin permissions without access to the "sudo" command since I cannot access the sudoers file to add myself to the list.

I am on a MacBook Air running 10.11.5 (El Capitan)

EDIT: sorry if this is the worng place to put this thread, I couldn't find a better place to put it. If an admin wants to move this thread somewhere else, please feel free to.

2. Relys

Relys Master of Computer Science

Jan 5, 2007
    United States
    This one should work: https://www.rapid7.com/db/modules/exploit/osx/local/rsh_libmalloc

Don't do anything that would get you in trouble...

3. Drew That Gamer
    OP

Drew That Gamer weeb

Dec 29, 2015
    United States
    Arlington, VA
  4. Relys

Jan 5, 2007
    United States
    I misread the system version as (10.10.5). It doesn't look like there's a a public PoC out for 10.11.5.

If you can't figure out how to use an exploit, you probably shouldn't have root access...

5. Drew That Gamer
    OP

Drew That Gamer weeb

Dec 29, 2015
    United States
    Arlington, VA
    Well, it just was a description. No download/instructions.

6. Relys

Jan 5, 2007
    United States
    It's part of the Metasploit framework. Also, it is for an older version so it won't work.

The Pegasus 0days used on iOS recently https://blog.lookout.com/blog/2016/08/25/trident-pegasus/ (that were patched on iOS 9.3.5) also applies to OSX as they are both based off of the XNU kernel. It does look like someone is current developing an exploit for the latest version 10.11.6 using these vulnerabilities: https://twitter.com/in7egral/status/776038618641104896

Last edited by Relys, Sep 14, 2016
  7. Joom