Hacking Help: emunand won't boot after daybreak update 12.1.0

Keylogger

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
2,524
Trophies
0
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
5,433
Country
France
I have updated my emunand to 12.10 using daybreak.
Now, the switch is not booting anymore (i mean emunand isn't booting, sysnand is OK)

I can see atmoshpere splash screen but then black screen....

I don't understand, everything went well, updates with daybreak, it asked to reboot, i did but now: black screen

I don't want to recreate an emunand as I have tons of savegames on it...

Anyway to recover?
 

kublai

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
507
Trophies
0
XP
1,918
Country
United States
I am in the same boat. I converted my SX OS FW 11 Emunand to Atmosphere and upgraded to FW12.1.0 just like OP.
 

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
1,832
Trophies
1
XP
2,995
Country
Canada
I know this will sound preachy (and not helpful now with your problem), but updating firmware is still a kind of risky operation, so saves should be backed up first, to be extra safe.
 

Maupiti

Hacking is so « Nice »
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
705
Trophies
0
XP
1,486
Country
France
I know this will sound preachy (and not helpful now with your problem), but updating firmware is still a kind of risky operation, so saves should be backed up first, to be extra safe.
Yep, I totally agree, reinstalling games or recreating emunand / EmuMMC is “nothing “, but saves can be lost forever.., so always do regular backups, at least when doing a “major move “, not even taking about a working emunand/EmuMMC backup.

I have updated my emunand to 12.10 using daybreak.
Now, the switch is not booting anymore (i mean emunand isn't booting, sysnand is OK)

I can see atmoshpere splash screen but then black screen....

I don't understand, everything went well, updates with daybreak, it asked to reboot, i did but now: black screen

I don't want to recreate an emunand as I have tons of savegames on it...

Anyway to recover?
Try to open your emunand with nxnandmanager see how it goes…
 
Last edited by Maupiti,

Raugo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2014
Messages
583
Trophies
0
XP
2,115
Country
Spain
I have updated my emunand to 12.10 using daybreak.
Now, the switch is not booting anymore (i mean emunand isn't booting, sysnand is OK)

I can see atmoshpere splash screen but then black screen....

I don't understand, everything went well, updates with daybreak, it asked to reboot, i did but now: black screen

I don't want to recreate an emunand as I have tons of savegames on it...

Anyway to recover?

Remove any custom sysmodule you have installed.
 

wiiNinja

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
631
Trophies
0
XP
1,216
Country
United States
Did you update Atmosphere and Hekate to the latest as well? Or just the firmware? Did you update the RCM payload?
 

wiiNinja

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2009
Messages
631
Trophies
0
XP
1,216
Country
United States
It just seems like something in the installation. I've done this several times now and never had any issues. I would try what Raugo said, and/or backup your SD and try a fresh installation of Atmosphere/Hekate
 

Maupiti

Hacking is so « Nice »
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
705
Trophies
0
XP
1,486
Country
France
It just seems like something in the installation. I've done this several times now and never had any issues. I would try what Raugo said, and/or backup your SD and try a fresh installation of Atmosphere/Hekate
Could be some sysmodules , but I’m not sure you will have a black screen instead of a fatal crash with an error log pointing to a content.
 

half-turok

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
90
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
620
Country
Mexico
Hello, I have a similar issue, my emunand won't boot after update from 11.0.1 to 12, I launch Atmosphere and show a message of error.



What can I do?
 

flowlapache

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
158
Trophies
0
Age
37
Website
Visit site
XP
715
Country
France
I know this will sound preachy (and not helpful now with your problem), but updating firmware is still a kind of risky operation, so saves should be backed up first, to be extra safe.
OOh yeah sure! And what do you use to backup saves carefully (without being connect to internet)? thanks a lot!
 

MSco

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
310
Trophies
0
XP
580
Country
Germany
I know this will sound preachy (and not helpful now with your problem), but updating firmware is still a kind of risky operation, so saves should be backed up first, to be extra safe.
Which tool do you use to backup savegames?

Is there a tool that allows me to backup all savegames at once without having to select each game individually?
 

Dust2dust

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
1,832
Trophies
1
XP
2,995
Country
Canada
Which tool do you use to backup savegames?

Is there a tool that allows me to backup all savegames at once without having to select each game individually?
I know of two tools, checkpoint and jksv. Checkpoint, the one I use, definitely takes cares of all game saves at once. Not sure about jksv, but I would think it does, too.
 

Maupiti

Hacking is so « Nice »
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
705
Trophies
0
XP
1,486
Country
France
I know of two tools, checkpoint and jksv. Checkpoint, the one I use, definitely takes cares of all game saves at once. Not sure about jksv, but I would think it does, too.
JKSV the one I use, does take care of all saves and users at once , also of Times events , which I’m not sure checkpoint does.
 
Last edited by Maupiti,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: ahhh just got my new chromebook