help- black screen on loading some ROMs

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Magnifico, Sep 14, 2007.

Sep 14, 2007
  1. Magnifico
    OP

    Member Magnifico GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    first off, 99% of my ROMs work FINE - and even the two that have given me problems (Advance wars DS and sonic rush adventure), work fine at first.

    what happens is i play the games, mutliple times, is ave my game, multiple times, i load fine, multiples times. eventually BOTH of these games start to load with a blank black screen at which i point i have to soft reset or turn the power off.

    the only way to get them working again is to delete the rom AND the save it seems. then they work again for a while, an the problem repeats itself...

    its only happened on these two games, and has happened moer than once on these games.

    what ive tried so far:
    tried different roms, tried untrimmed versions, and tried deleting save and rom, which works (so maybe it has something to do with save??).

    has anyone had this problem or is it a known thing that i can fix?? or any guesses/suggestions? im really sick of losing my progress in these games!
     
  2. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did you try turning off soft reset?
     
  3. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    You are using some bad AR cheats which kills your save?
     
  4. woof811

    Newcomer woof811 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what version is your firmware ?
     
  5. wrathek

    Member wrathek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    id say prolly the ar cheats. if not, try reformatting the card
     
  6. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its probably the Cheats. lots of cheats can kill your game.


    And soft reset? Whats that?
     
  7. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh. My. God.


    You shouldn't own a R4.
     
  8. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Dunno, maybe some new feature to play GBA roms with [​IMG]
     
  10. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well,I know its something to do with going back to the R$ screen mid-game, but thats about all I know..
     
  11. Magnifico
    OP

    Member Magnifico GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for replies,

    no i havent used AR or any of hte cheats in my life, and i did try disabling soft reset.

    wish i could figure this out, sick of losing my saves =(. the thing i havent tried is reformatting, if theres no other suggestions maybe thats next step?
     

Share This Page