Help a noob just to run Doom and Flashback on PSP

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by test84, Aug 24, 2009.

Aug 24, 2009
  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Hi,

    A generous friend of mine was kind enough to let me borrow his PSP, I have no idea what firmware it is or what not about PSP's, all I know is that it's a slim and it was hard to hack.

    I just want to run Doom and Flashback on it, plz help me with what to get and what to do. And I really don't want to ruin his working device.

    -din
     
  2. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
  3. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Thanks Chris, its 5.00 M33-4. I downloaded Doom PSP (even though I'm not sure if its the best port of Doom on PSP) but it contains lots of folders and I have no idea where to put them.

    Anyway, Is there Wolfenstein (and SoD) ports there too? which ones of Doom or Wolf's are best for PSP?
     
  4. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    I would like to test this DOOM PSP myself and see if I can help you installing it. be back in a few minutes after searching the DOOM PSP game

    EDIT:

    Download the latest DOOM-PSP emulator put the 2 folders into your PSP/GAMES folder...then grab a DOOM2.WAD (Must be named DOOM2.WAD) file and place it into your DOOM-PSP folder (Not the DOOM-PSP% folder)

    Doing this...it should load up fine...all you need can be found in my thread...located in my SIG.

    I havent seen the actual files but I searched it for you.

    here's another one:

    fw 1.0 and 2.0(with loader)
    1. Create Doom dir under Games.
    2. Copy save, wads, inst, config.ini, and timidity.cfg into doom folder.
    3. copy eboot.pbp from fw10 into doom dir.
    4. copy any main wads into doom/wads dir and pwads into doom/wads/pwads dir.
    5. launch game, select wads and play! to set up controls press L+R+Start and follow instructions.

    fw 1.5
    1. Create Doom dir under Games.
    2. Create Doom% dir under Games.
    2. Copy save, wads, inst, config.ini, and timidity.cfg into doom folder.
    3. copy eboot.pbp from fw15/Doom into doom dir.
    5. copy eboot.pbp from fw15/Doom% into doom% dir.
    4. copy any main wads into doom/wads dir and pwads into doom/wads/pwads dir.
    5. launch game, select wads and play! to set up controls press L+R+Start and follow instructions.
     
  5. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    dude, I didn't understood your post, sorry!

    I made a folder called Reminscenes and deployed contents of the reminecens.rar there but that didn't show up in games menu, what did I do wrong?

    EDIT:

    I managed to run Reminiscence, I had to copy it into game folder, damn I just had to read readme.txt, hehe.

    Now, going back to running doom, the problem is there are lots of doom ports and I donno which is better.
     
  6. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    In the readme, it says options for firmwares of 1, 1.5 and 2 but I'm on 5.00 M33-4, which one should I follow?
     
  7. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
  8. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I could run Doom PSP, but even if I select DOOM.WAD, it runs DooM 2 always.
    I ran PSP Doom too, I didnt like any of those. : (
     

Share This Page