Hello :) M3 Card Reader not working in vista?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Amyrosie, Jan 10, 2008.

Jan 10, 2008
  1. Amyrosie
    OP

    Newcomer Amyrosie I'm trying!! :-)

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello everyone! I just got my M3 Real today with my micro-sd card. The thing is, it doesn't work. When I plug the adapter in my computer, it asks for a driver...but I can't find it anywhere...Does anyone knows what to do? Thanks a lot!
     
  2. gcstr

    Newcomer gcstr Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Australia
    My flash card and the m3real adaptor worked fine - just plugged it into my windows vista premium pc and all was fine. I didn't need to download/install drivers it just said found new hardware and went and did it's thing.

    try a different usb port
     
  3. jaygee

    Newcomer jaygee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Maine
    Country:
    United States
    same here.. or just use the sd caed adapter that your micro sd card came in and use the card reader on your computer instead
     
  4. Amyrosie
    OP

    Newcomer Amyrosie I'm trying!! :-)

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    You won't believe me, I did, and it didn't work either...I'm pissed now lol..Stupid HP laptop...
     
  5. jaygee

    Newcomer jaygee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Maine
    Country:
    United States
    your sd card could be the problem
     
  6. jaygee

    Newcomer jaygee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Maine
    Country:
    United States
    your sd card could be the problem
     
  7. lcdec

    Newcomer lcdec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    My brother left his reader plug in for like a hour to copy over some roms and it got overheated and fried. The red light in the reader doesn't even light up anymore. Anyways don't leave it in your pc too long and just use a microsd reader if your reader breaks.
     
  8. Shadow_Jean

    Newcomer Shadow_Jean Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Can you format using FAT32 under Vista? I'm getting my M3 Simply next week andi t would be nice. In case it doesn't, I have an Ubuntu live CD...
     
  9. Acester47

    Newcomer Acester47 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Help me! I googled for this and it brought me to this forum!

    I have vista home premium 64 bit, and here's my issue.

    I have an M3 Simply. It came with a use micro SD reader. Vista says that it's unable to use the device, unless it has a driver.. Is there any fix? I really, REALLY need help! I looked all around, and only come back to this post! Pleaseeee help [​IMG]
     
  10. Shadow_Jean

    Newcomer Shadow_Jean Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, if the included reader doesn't have a Vista X64 drivers...

    And FYI, Vista X64 drivers are usually only from known manufacturer and popular products right now. The included adapter is probably from a unknown brand and only has drivers for WinXP 32bits.
     
  11. BinarySoup

    Newcomer BinarySoup Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think i've done the same on my mac. it worked fine a couple of weeks. left it plugged in and then it just stopped working. dealextreme were kind enough to send a replacement of my choice.
     
  12. Acester47

    Newcomer Acester47 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    bump, I fixed it

    Put in the reader, the found new hardware wizard pops up

    click locate the driver, specify location

    specify this folder: C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore

    Click ok, it should install correctly. If it asks for any more drivers (mine did) just keep using that folder.
    woot.
     
  13. jaygee

    Newcomer jaygee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Maine
    Country:
    United States
    this is wierd i have vista home premium and the thing just worked out the box for me
     
  14. Pyrot1c

    Newcomer Pyrot1c Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Fontana California
    Country:
    United States
    i had the same problem

    found it has trouble with usb 1.0 ports

    luckily as soon as i got home my 2.0 ports read it fine [​IMG]
     

Share This Page