HDTV Problems?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by - Wrath of God -, Nov 27, 2006.

Nov 27, 2006

HDTV Problems? by - Wrath of God - at 5:15 AM (1,882 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. - Wrath of God -
    OP

    Member - Wrath of God - God

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    975
    Country:
    United States
    My friend told me that the Wii has some problems with HDTV, so I just wanted to confirm or disprove his sources.

    So my questions are:

    Can the Wii show a 1080p image? If not, what's the highest resolution it supports? And is there something I need to buy for it?

    Can the Wii mess up your HDTV in any way? If so, how?

    And finally, is there a point in playing it on a huge TV? Will the quality drop?

    A huge thanks in advance to anyone who answers my questions.
     
  2. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    1) The Wii can output up to 480p
    2) I wouldn't imagine how it could screw up your TV
    3) No idea
     
  3. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    The Wii does not output a HD picture. Although if you buy seperate component cables for it you can make it output at 480p instead of i.

    It wont do anything harmful to a HD TV at all besides not look that good [​IMG]
     
  4. ctunightfall

    Newcomer ctunightfall Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
  5. Sevael

    Member Sevael GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Canada
    The Wii looks fantastic on my 42" LCD HDTV at 480p.
     
  6. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    Now the better question is "Is it worth buying the $30 component cables if I'm going to be playing on a 27 inch old-school TV? Will I see a difference?"
     
  7. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    The Wii can too mess up your HDTV. Don't wear your wriststrap, get drunk, and try to pitch on Wii Sports baseball as fast as you can.
     
  8. serious_sean

    Member serious_sean GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    the wii isnt going to mess up your tv. but i just got a new plasma, and wii looks fugly on it with composite cables. My advice is, get yourself some component cables if you have a large hdtv.
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I saw a huge difference on my 27 inch standard def TV going from composite to S-video with my Gamecube, and a slightly bigger difference going from composite to component with my DVD player. My TV has very nice picture quality for a 3 year old $250 set. If your TV is crappy the difference may not be so noticeable, but if it's that crappy it probably doesn't have component inputs anyway.

    If I had to choose between a Wii and 2 games or a Wii, 1 game and the component cable I'd get the cable.
     
  10. Sevael

    Member Sevael GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Canada
    If your TV is new enough to support component video, then it's not "old-school". [​IMG]

    Yes, component will always give the best picture quality. Screen size really doesn't factor into this at all. My buddy has a 14" CRT with component video input. When comparing composite to component, the difference is every bit as noticable on his TV as on my sister's 32" CRT. Only difference is you have to sit closer to my buddy's TV to watch it. [​IMG]
     
  11. Sevael

    Member Sevael GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Canada
    I couldn't agree more. [​IMG]
     
  12. joemontana

    Newcomer joemontana Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    i've seen all those posts about picture quality, and since i don't really care about tv nor am going to buy a new one, i thought i could use my 21'' monitor to play.

    then i went to wii website, cos i remember reading ages ago that wii would be conectable to computer monitors in an easy way, not like ps2 or xbox were. so it was a bit wrong, although nintendo gave some clues on how to make wii to work with a computer monitor, unfortunelly not enough for me, but still possible to connect "With a Direct Connection (RGB or DVI Cables):
    Nintendo does not manufacture any cables to make an RGB or DVI connection. While other companies may manufacture wires that can make this possible, we are not able to recommend them, as they are not licensed by Nintendo."

    does anyone have any experience with that or could tell me what could be done regarding to the matter?

    tks!! [​IMG]
     
  13. RyuKakashi

    Member RyuKakashi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    I also hoped Wii would have some cables to connect directly to DVI like 360 did but nope. It doesn't seem like it'll ever happen either.
    There's less and less demand for this because of the rise of cheap LCD hdtvs as well as monitors that have native component inputs.

    I ordered a VDigi VD-Z3 Component -> VGA Transcoder and Wii Component Cables totalling at 100$ or so to play on my 17 inch monitor.

    Seems like a waste but, we'll see.
     
  14. mr_blonde_88

    Member mr_blonde_88 Torture You? That's A Good Idea. I Like That

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Bristol (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i heard that there are cables to connect the Wii to a monitor, but only available in japan
     
  15. RyuKakashi

    Member RyuKakashi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    I have yet to see an import site have it, and i'd assume the cables aren't region locked heh.
    I've seen some weird cables japan has though....who knew they had so many video formats.
     
  16. Tamyu

    Member Tamyu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Just outside Nagoya, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    No, there aren`t any cables out or coming out here to connect it to a monitor. Japan just has the D cable format which LOOKS a lot like a monitor but is not.

    Unless your monitor supports that, but that isn`t exactly a normal thing. About as common as a monitor supporting Component.
     
  17. Djang

    Member Djang GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands

Share This Page