PS1/2 HDLBATCH 1.1 Update (100MB/s - 150MB/s PS2 HDD batch installer using HDL DUMP)

  • Thread starter rs1n
  • Start date
  • Views 46,368
  • Replies 95
  • Likes 14

rs1n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
298
Trophies
0
XP
1,098
Country
United States
Update to: https://gbatemp.net/threads/hdlbatch-a-batch-installer-for-adding-games-onto-a-ps2-hdd.551102/


Version 1.11 Fixed small bug related to manual edits of gameid.txt sometimes not setting titles properly
Version 1.12 Fixed an issue with paths when running from non-main drives
Version 1.13 Fixed issue with target selection; errorlevel n sets all lower errorlevels; re-ordered errorlevel checks
Version 1.14 Fixed issue with filenames containing exclamation mark (!); gameid.txt updated to work around delayed expansion
Version 1.15 Fixed issue with short filenames (e.g. Gun.iso or Ico.cue)


Main feature update is the inclusion of gameid.txt -- game titles will now be pulled from gameid.txt (if it exists). If no gameid.txt is found, or no entry is found within gameid.txt, then the file name will be used instead. Users may choose to ignore gameid.txt altogether. Please see the readme.txt file on using gameid.txt. This file was generated from:


As some game titles are extremely long, users may want to edit gameid.txt and shorten the titles. Note, however, that the database is currently 13670 entries! Fortunately, it is organized by region code, followed by numerical ID. This is where test-mode comes into play. The current release will always run in test mode by default. In this mode, only the game type, game id, and game titles are printed. This will allow users to double check their game library to ensure that each game has a proper id (required for loading via OPL) and desired game title (and title length). Once satisfied, change a single option line inside the batch file to actually install. For large installations, you can output the info dump into a text file with something like:

HDLBATCH > info.txt​

in a command line terminal with administrative rights. Please consult the readme.txt file under the FAQ section. An option for network installs was added as well (only because someone asked about it; I wholeheartedly do not recommend it as it is slow, and network connections, even direct connections, can still break for any number of reasons). This is likely the final update. I have no interest in adding any other feature, or further maintaining this package (unless it is to fix bugs/errors or incompatibilities with future versions of Windows).
 

Attachments

  • HDLBATCH_v1_15.7z
    217 KB · Views: 2,245
Last edited by rs1n,

Rulerofthefreeworld

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
277
Country
United States
When i run batch file as admin it just asks to use titles from game id.txt? Than closes. Im trying to batch transfer over ethernet my only option or 1 at a time.
 

rs1n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
298
Trophies
0
XP
1,098
Country
United States
When i run batch file as admin it just asks to use titles from game id.txt? Than closes. Im trying to batch transfer over ethernet my only option or 1 at a time.

The first run is always a test run. It checks all the CUE/BIN and ISO files in the same directory as the batch file (you should have extracted the entire contents of the zip file into the same directory as your games). You should see listings of each game file, followed by the game type (inject_cd vs inject_dvd), game id, and game title. After it checks all files, it should pause and ask you to press a key. Check each game has a proper game id and appropriate title. If you don't see any of this at all, then something is wrong. If all is fine, edit the batch file and change TEST=yes to TEST=NO (make sure to use all caps) and re-run it.

The readme.txt file has more details especially if you have a lot of games and need to capture the output into a text file.

EDIT: This is what you should see during the test-run:

Game title database found.
Use titles from gameid.txt? [Y,N]?N

1 - SCUS_971.13.Ico.cue
Install type: inject_cd ID: "SCUS_971.13"
Title: Ico​
2 - SCUS_971.25.Frequency.cue
Install type: inject_cd ID: "SCUS_971.25"
Title: Frequency​
...
(I deleted some entries in the interest of a shorter post)
...

31 - SLUS_214.65.Raiden III.cue
Install type: inject_cd ID: "SLUS_214.65"
Title: Raiden III​
Press any key to continue . . .​
 
Last edited by rs1n,

rs1n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
298
Trophies
0
XP
1,098
Country
United States
Got it working thanks! Awesome work on this btw.

Out of curiosity, how many games were you installing? Did you have any network issues at all? (I personally have not had any so far -- knock on wood -- but I was wondering if anyone had ever encountered connection issues with network installs of large libraries.) My own experience with HDLGameInstaller, as an example, is that after about 500GB-600GB it will always time out whereas HDL_DUMP (so far) has not given me any issues.
 

Rulerofthefreeworld

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
277
Country
United States
I have a few hundred installing now it will prob take a while over network but ill let it sit over night and will let you know by tommorow night if theres any issues.
 

rs1n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
298
Trophies
0
XP
1,098
Country
United States
I have a few hundred installing now it will prob take a while over network but ill let it sit over night and will let you know by tommorow night if theres any issues.

Hope this reaches you in time -- you may want to change your power savings setting so that your computer does not put itself to sleep (not sure how your PC is set up, but it would be bad if the PC went to sleep overnight in the middle of a large transfer).
 

Purechoass

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
46
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

So I need a little help, Downloaded the program, extracted the files to the same directory as my ISO's and this is what happens when I let it scan my games. (Check attached picture)

Edit: So I am not getting any of the information that should be displayed? It is just showing me the filename for the ISO?

Edit 2: If I right click and run as admin the program says it can't find the game title database. If I don't run as admin it asks for admin permission one by one for every single game. But then it appears as I showed in the screenshot. :(

Edit 3: So weirdly enough, I copied a ISO along with the program off of my second Drive and onto my main HDD and now when I right click and run as admin it works properly. So it is Windows stupid Admin thing causing problems. Both Drives are installed inside my PC by the way, as well as a third drive I currently have inside of my PC as which I intend to use for the PS2. Any ideas on what to do? My main drive is an SSD so I don't have enough space to copy everything over to there.

I got the ISO from archive.org from REDUMP so they should all be legit?

Any idea what I am doing wrong?

Cheers
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    69.2 KB · Views: 407
Last edited by Purechoass,

rs1n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
298
Trophies
0
XP
1,098
Country
United States
Away from my PC at the moment but if you are getting admin rights issues open a command line terminal with admin rights (in windows 10 type cmd into the search box and right click on cmd.exe and select Run as Administrator). Navigate to your folder using the cd (change directory command) and type out HDLBATCH and press enter. Make sure you extracted all files in the zip file though.

EDIT: Uploaded 1.12 to make it so you can right-click and run from anywhere. Looks like you found a path issue when running from non-main drives. (Basically the cd command in the batch file was missing a "/d" flag)
 
Last edited by rs1n,
  • Like
Reactions: Purechoass

Purechoass

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
46
Country
United Kingdom
Away from my PC at the moment but if you are getting admin rights issues open a command line terminal with admin rights (in windows 10 type cmd into the search box and right click on cmd.exe and select Run as Administrator). Navigate to your folder using the cd (change directory command) and type out HDLBATCH and press enter. Make sure you extracted all files in the zip file though.

EDIT: Uploaded 1.12 to make it so you can right-click and run from anywhere. Looks like you found a path issue when running from non-main drives. (Basically the cd command in the batch file was missing a "/d" flag)

Worked perfectly! Thank you very much for responding so quickly and fixing the issue! Much appreciated!

Also appreciate the explanation as to what was wrong and the workaround! Learnt a little aha.

Cheers bud! :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: rs1n

Purechoass

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
46
Country
United Kingdom
Hey, Sorry to bother you again. So now I am getting another issue. After trying to copy the games over I am getting an error.

It looks like it is trying to install to the wrong HDD? Please see attached picture, Cheers

Edit: I tried selecting 3 thinking perhaps the naming was wrong, ie perhaps 1 = 0 2=1 3=2

But it still tries to use hdd1. Don't know if that helps at all but hey aha.
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    83 KB · Views: 475
Last edited by Purechoass,

rs1n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
298
Trophies
0
XP
1,098
Country
United States
Hey, Sorry to bother you again. So now I am getting another issue. After trying to copy the games over I am getting an error.

It looks like it is trying to install to the wrong HDD? Please see attached picture, Cheers

Edit: I tried selecting 3 thinking perhaps the naming was wrong, ie perhaps 1 = 0 2=1 3=2

But it still tries to use hdd1. Don't know if that helps at all but hey aha.

The errorlevel order was wrong; re-ordered it. (Errorlevel n also triggers all lower levels). Try 1.13 (see first post) -- this _should_ be the last issue. Thanks for using it and helping it improve!
 
Last edited by rs1n,

BIFFTAZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
596
Trophies
0
XP
833
Country
Works perfectly. Had 2 games unable to match GAME ID (Destroy All Humans 1 & 2, Installed these 2 with HDLGameinstaller), But other than that, Works just fine. Thanks for the share dude!!
 

rs1n

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
298
Trophies
0
XP
1,098
Country
United States
Works perfectly. Had 2 games unable to match GAME ID (Destroy All Humans 1 & 2, Installed these 2 with HDLGameinstaller), But other than that, Works just fine. Thanks for the share dude!!

Would you mind letting me know which game IDs they were for Destroy All Humans 1 & 2? Also, could you humor me and see if their SHA-1 or MD5 checksums match those on redump.org (http://redump.org/discs/system/ps2/letter/d/) ?

EDIT: The reason I ask is that usually when a game ID is not found, it is due to a bad dump. But if yours are good rips, then it would definitely suggest a bug in HDL DUMP's cd/dvd info algorithm.

EDIT2: Nevermind; I think I found the problem. File names with ! cause issues with delayed expansion. Will post a fix soon.

EDIT3: Updated to 1.14
 
Last edited by rs1n,

BIFFTAZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
596
Trophies
0
XP
833
Country
Would you mind letting me know which game IDs they were for Destroy All Humans 1 & 2? Also, could you humor me and see if their SHA-1 or MD5 checksums match those on redump.org (http://redump.org/discs/system/ps2/letter/d/) ?

EDIT: The reason I ask is that usually when a game ID is not found, it is due to a bad dump. But if yours are good rips, then it would definitely suggest a bug in HDL DUMP's cd/dvd info algorithm.

EDIT2: Nevermind; I think I found the problem. File names with ! cause issues with delayed expansion. Will post a fix soon.

EDIT3: Updated to 1.14

Sorry, Only now seeing this. Thanks for the fix!! Ill try this update & post back.
 

flingrocks

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 14, 2017
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
42
Country
United States
Nice script. I wrote some for POPS stuff but never one yet for HDL. Works fine.
I only noticed that variable TEST still remains in console instance after batch completes, so putting the SET TEST line within a SETLOCAL block would clean that up. In the end, it doesn't truly matter (since it's just that instance) but that's my preference. Anyways, great work!

By the way, I hadn't made consideration for this use-case before watching the video but if you really want to avoid the lack of instructions for input prompts when saving output to file, you could redirect the prompts that need a response to the standard error stream by adding 1>&2 after those commands in the batch (e.g. PAUSE 1>&2). The error stream is still displayed in command console and not added to file when the standard output stream is being redirected to a file. Of course, that is stretching the convention since these are not error warnings.
 

kazoola

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
104
Country
United States
Hi,

I'm having errors when try to copy over 5 games to an external 2tb toshiba p300.
I'm using 1.15 and still not able to install these games.

I've tried all 3 options for hdd's and it will say the drive is not ready or an apa error.
Is there something I need to fix?
Is there any more information you would like?
Many thanks for this
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    165 KB · Views: 435
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/AuFG3Di.jpg