Hacking HDD not recognized by USB Loader,

SpaceJump

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
3,866
Trophies
1
Location
Zebes
XP
3,276
Country
Germany
I have an 1TB Fujitsu-Siemens HDD partitioned with 850GB and 150GB (approx.). I formated the 150GB partition with WBFS Manager without problem. I can add games with it to the WBFS partition. But when I hook the HDD to the Wii and launch USB Loader, it doesn't recognize the HDD. I used the same method for my 1,5TB Maxtor HDD and that worked.

Any idea?
 

wchill

Resident chillxpert
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
1,407
Trophies
1
Age
13
Website
Visit site
XP
466
Country
United States
The Wii only works with some USB devices at the moment.
It makes sense that your PC can recognize the drive, since PCs use these drives.
The Wii wasn't designed for USB I/O and such, so support is limited.
 

FenrirWolf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
4,347
Trophies
1
Location
Sandy, UT
XP
615
Country
United States
SpaceJump said:
As I said, the USB Loader doesn't seem to find the HDD at all.
I mean to say you should format the partition to FAT32 or NTSC or whatever from your PC, then use the Wii to format it to WBFS. After that, see if your PC can detect it.
 

SpaceJump

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
3,866
Trophies
1
Location
Zebes
XP
3,276
Country
Germany
Tried formating with USB Loader with no luck (same as with formating with WBFS tools):

Error: Could not initialize USB subsystem! (ret = -1).

There's actually a Western Digital WDC WD10 EAVS in the Fujitsu-Siemens. Aren't WD HDDs supposed to work with USB Loader?
 

Predator04

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
74
Trophies
0
XP
184
Country
United States
stupid question but did u install the cios ver9? not sure the exact name but try install/reinstalling that. does ur hdd use a external power source?
 

frankomio

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
182
Country
Gambia, The
@spacejump

try the usbloader from LoPST,
there ist a better version to initialize the hdd (my opinion, and experience)

i implemented this routine in every loader i tested , and find it always better
 

hanshansaen

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
Gambia, The
I have tested a FujitsuSiemens Siemens Storagebird 1000GB and it was recognized and works well.

I created 2 partitions with GParted (Ubuntu) as FAT32 and converted one of them with the wii to wbfs and it works nearly perfect.
Sometimes I got the same error (ret-1 could not initialize...), but trying again and again helped so far.
 

SpaceJump

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
3,866
Trophies
1
Location
Zebes
XP
3,276
Country
Germany
frankomio said:
@spacejump

try the usbloader from LoPST,
there ist a better version to initialize the hdd (my opinion, and experience)

i implemented this routine in every loader i tested , and find it always better
Can you give me a link to the LoPST version?

Btw, of course cIOS36 rev9 is installed on my Wii. My Maxtor 1,5TB works flawlessly with it.
 

giantpune

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
2,860
Trophies
0
XP
213
Country
United States
I had the same issue with my 1TB HDD. Here's how I fixed it...
1 Backup everything from the big NTFS partition.
2 Erase and delete both partitions
3 I used Vista's tool to create a fat partition first (assign a drive letter), then the NTFS
4 Put all your data back on the NTFS
5 Use the Wii to format the WBFS partition
 

manias

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
1,258
Trophies
0
XP
143
Country
Netherlands
ntfs
wink.gif
 

SpaceJump

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
3,866
Trophies
1
Location
Zebes
XP
3,276
Country
Germany
I got it to sometimes work with Lopst and WiiShizza's versions. The problem is that the HDD seems to be recognized very slowly, so WiiShizza's loader cannot find it first, so the screen writings turn red and no covers are shown. Any idea how to fix this?

Edit: And can anyone give me a working link to Lopst Edition 2? This doesn't work.
 

frankomio

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
182
Country
Gambia, The
@spacejump: maybe this works ? LOPST


and here ist the code, that i ALWAYS inserted in other usbloaders for my HDD:
(this worked best for me , cause my platinum mydrive 320GB needs ~15 sec. :-( )

CODEs32 WBFS_Init(void)
{
ÂÂÂÂs32 ret;
ÂÂÂÂint i=0;
ÂÂÂÂprintf("\nPlease insert USB device.\n");
ÂÂÂÂprintf("ÂÂ (try to connect and disconnect USB)\n");
ÂÂÂÂprintf("\nTrying to load USB (delay 40 sec. max.)");
ir:
ÂÂÂÂi++;
ÂÂÂÂprintf(">");
//ÂÂÂÂsleep(1);
ÂÂÂÂret = IOS_ReloadIOS(249);
//ÂÂÂÂsleep(5);
ÂÂÂÂ/* Initialize USB storage */
ÂÂÂÂret = USBStorage_Init();
ÂÂÂÂif (i==40)
ÂÂÂÂ{
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂWpad_Init();
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂprintf("\n No USB device.\n\n");
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ/* Restart */
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂRestart_Wait();
ÂÂÂÂ}
ÂÂÂÂif (ret < 0)
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂgoto ir;
//ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn ret;


ÂÂÂÂWpad_Init();
ÂÂÂÂ

ÂÂÂÂ/* Get USB capacity */
ÂÂÂÂnb_sectors = USBStorage_GetCapacity(&sector_size);
ÂÂÂÂif (!nb_sectors)
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn -1;

ÂÂÂÂreturn 0;
}
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: :rofl2: :rofl2: