HDD missing space?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Osaka, Sep 30, 2008.

Sep 30, 2008

HDD missing space? by Osaka at 1:39 AM (873 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Osaka
    OP

    Member Osaka GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United States
    I got a used HDD from gamestop, (I got the arcade system cause it's all I could order at the time)

    anyways. the HDD says it has 13.99 GB open. I know that gamestop reformats the HDD's before they sell them... anyone know why it reads as 13.99GB?
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rest of it is taken up by the backwards compatibility emulator.
     
  3. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    "20GB" probably means 20 billion bytes, which is about 18.2GB in binary definition of giga.
    And as mentioned by Armadillo, 360 stores buncha stuff on HDD that you may or may not ever use.

    It only makes sense because 360 HDDs are insanely overpriced and stuffing unwanted data on your HDD is a good way to make people buy another, or bigger (and overpriced again) 360 HDD. I don't think people mod their 360 HDDs as much compared to drive flashing or PS3 HDD swapping.
     
  4. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it needs some space for cache memory and updates, that why only 14gb is free.
     
  5. rscarrab

    Member rscarrab GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Bureau 39, Pyongyang
    Country:
    Ireland
    Armadillo hit the nail on the head there.
     
  6. xalphax

    Member xalphax Internet killed the Ponystar.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    here'n'there
    Country:
    Croatia
    its normal that only 14gb are user accessible.
     

Share This Page