HD Wii upscaler: VDIGI VD-W3

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by tigris, Sep 29, 2010.

Sep 29, 2010

HD Wii upscaler: VDIGI VD-W3 by tigris at 9:43 PM (4,147 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. tigris
    OP

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    Now THIS looks fishy. I'm thinking of buying one at £37/$59, but I'm wondering if anyone has one and can tell me if this is total bullshit or the real deal. I mean, something that can suddenly 'make' your wii HD? I'm not sure. Look at the claims.

    * Crystal shape image, Outstanding picture quality.
    * Full HD (1080p) output.
    * True 10-Bits high definition video scaler engine.
    * AV grade scaler engine

    User Friendly

    * No external power required.
    * Easy to setup.
    * LED status indication.

    Wide Range Video Display support

    * Support TV (HDMI) and PC Monitor (DVI).
    * HDMI-Audio and Analog audio out.
    * Various HDTV video out.
    * Native resolution for LCD monitor.


    I'd like to ask a few questions:
    1) Is the difference noticeable? All I see on Google are fanboys going 'Yuh it is gut' or IGN biased reviews going 'doobydoobydoo'
    2) Are there any other, cheaper 'wii upscalers' on the market?
     


  2. PrinceNOOB

    Member PrinceNOOB GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    I have one of those well it doesn't make your wii HD it just improves the picture and helps a bit in removing some of the jaggies and a brighter color
     
  3. tigris
    OP

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it worth my money?
     
  4. PrinceNOOB

    Member PrinceNOOB GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a big HDTV yes but if you have a small one it isn't worth it IMO.
     
  5. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    This thing is utter shit compared to Dolphin at 1080p, all it does is upscale the image, which if you have a half-decent HDTV, shouldn't improve the quality much at all considering the TV is already upscaling everything to match its native resolution.
     
  6. farcry15

    Member farcry15 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    here's a good review of this device
    the screenshots probably aren't too reliable since they're taken by a camera and at an odd angle, rather than with a capture card.

    there are also a few comparison shots on the manufacturers website
     
  7. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    IMO it isn't worth the buy, as Wii games lack the detail that really shows off games that are built for HD. 480p from component cables are honestly the highest you'd really need to go. You'll trim a bit of jagginess on the sides of textures, but other than that, I'd suggest you put the $60 on something else, like a game. =P
     
  8. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    If you must upscale it into 1080p, then use those boxes designed for upscaling. Those cost about $200 to $300. VD-W3 upscaling isn't as good as compare to other alternative.
     
  9. thebigboss14

    Member thebigboss14 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    3DS Galaxy, Planet Zelda
    Country:
    United States
    What you guys think are the best best option because I was thinking in getting the same thing.
     
  10. chin77

    Newcomer chin77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I bought one and am pleased with the results for the following reasons:

    MUCH better color
    Really does take the edge off Wii's (relatively crappy) 480p especially when anti-aliased
    but most of all, it displays THE WHOLE FRAME (which through my component cables gets cut on all 4 sides)
    I like the fact that it's got many settings to fit your monitor needs
    It supports HDMI audio for most HDTVs

    The best Wii cable option IMO.
     
  11. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    needs a usb slot so i'm shit out of luck both mine are taken
     
  12. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Well you can't compare it to Dolphin since that is an emulator.
     
  13. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm aware.
     
  14. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Why can't you use a USB hub?
     
  15. Evilbaz

    Newcomer Evilbaz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I might give one of these a go


    [​IMG]
     
  16. epicCreations.or

    Member epicCreations.or GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Country:
    United States
    *psst* if you go to "My Controls", you can set your signature so you don't have to paste that everytime.

    *ahem* Anyways, this thing is probably a waste.
     
  17. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm using AV cables at the moment on a 55" TV, should I upgrade to component or buy one of these?
     
  18. Evilbaz

    Newcomer Evilbaz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks mate
     
  19. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    I´d stick with component cables. Wii´s resolution are fine at 480p, a "more detailed" screen, incluiding resolution, stretch or whatever will make Wii worse. If it IS possible, you´ll make polygons to see way they aren´t designed.

    As for this product, the comparisons were almost exactly to me, except the device stretching signal image a bit. (The same thing can be made by a lot of LCD/TVS so be careful what you read)

    As myself, being user of Component cables, my dad at house has a '27 Plasma (yes an old plasma) and image improves a lot on low res games like Trauma Center Second Opinion.

    My mother has a LCDTV '51 also, and frankly it does a better job at receiving/transcoding signal than Plasma itself. It looks awesome. (In games like Smash Bros Brawl with deflicker filter off seems almost like at a higher res, and Metroid Other M seems beautiful, being 16:9 by default)

    So, stick with Component cables instead [​IMG]
     
  20. tigris
    OP

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so, component is great, amrite?
     

Share This Page