HBC black screen after updating to 4.1

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cu_shane, Jul 22, 2009.

Jul 22, 2009
  1. cu_shane
    OP

    Newcomer cu_shane Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I was on 3.3 I used Waninkoko's updater to update to 4.1. It seems to have installed correctly, but now the homebrew channel won't load (I get a black screen). USB loader still works, though. I have a nand backup so I can start over if need be.

    Any idea where I went wrong?

    I found a similar post and the solution given was just to reinstall HBC using banner bomb. I could do that, but I'd like to know what I did wrong that got me to this problem.
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
  3. cu_shane
    OP

    Newcomer cu_shane Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, FenrirWolf. Oh well, I just went ahead and used bannerbomb to reinstall HBC.
     
  4. WiiGuy10

    Newcomer WiiGuy10 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    cu_shane, what step did you take to update from 3.3 to 4.1? What did you have before? I assumed hbc and cIOS vsomething, then you just use the update from Waninkoko or did you have to patch iso60 or 61 or whatever it was?

    my hbc on 3.3 sometime blackscreen for like a good 10 secs before loading, did you ever have that on 3.3?

     
  5. Normalboyninja

    Newcomer Normalboyninja Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Brikama
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    i have the same problem but when i try and load bannerbomb the wii just freezes after i insert the SD card. Any solutions? Should i use my NAND backup?
     
  6. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Reformat the SD card?
     
  7. technosexual

    Newcomer technosexual Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    make sure you have ios61, if not use wiiscu to install ios61 as was posted earlier

    then use the hackmii installer to uninstall and reinstall hbc
     

Share This Page