Having trouble with the Orange Box three

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by legendofphil, Mar 24, 2008.

Mar 24, 2008
  1. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    About a month ago I wiped my computer and re-installed everything, including my entire Steam account.
    About 2 weeks ago I got a new monitor, 1920x1200 up from 1280x1024.

    I sat down today to play through Portal, again, but I get frame rates of 2-4 fps. Even with all graphics settings on low, low res and even in a window.
    I tried HL2: EP2 and TF2 but get the same result.
    All over steam games work perfectly, as does Supreme Commander and UT3. By this I mean frame rates in excess of 100.

    Specs:
    Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
    2GB RAM
    8800GTX 768MB
    Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer

    I have done all I can think of, any suggestions?
     
  2. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try lowering the resolution a bit to see if it runs faster in a smaller resolution?
     
  3. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All the way down to 640x480 and windowed.
     
  4. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    three words:
    Graphics card diver
     
  5. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Try using a driver cleaner to uninstall the driver then reinstall afterwards with the newest drivers.
     
  6. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They are the latest drivers.
     
  7. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Latest doesn't mean best, especially with laptops... i know you're using a desktop, but try some different/older forceware drivers and see what happens.
     
  8. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fixed it.
    Not a graphics driver problem, its a conflict with the software that comes with the motherboard drivers.
     

Share This Page