Having trouble playing games on my DSi v1.4.3e

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Rethen, Mar 24, 2013.

Mar 24, 2013
  1. Rethen
    OP

    Newcomer Rethen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using an R4i Gold card from www.r4ids.cn and it used to play games on my DSi until I attempted an update, (having no idea what I was doing, I initiated it because it wouldn't play Pokemon Black 2) after successfully updating it I accidently hit A again starting the update again. (By update I mean patch update, not DSi update.) I was impatient so I turned off the DSi thinking it wouldn't bring any harm to the R4i Gold card, after rebooting it etc it had broken, after hours of researching on how to fix it I'm now back using Wood R4iGold v1.57 for non-3DS firmware with v144 update patch. The firmware and everything works fine, but when I select a game to play I get a blackscreen with the text 'Loading...' in white and it just gets stuck there, i've been searching online for hours still and can't find a solution. I've tried multiple firmwares and patchs formatting my MicroSD card every single time. Any ideas?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  3. Rethen
    OP

    Newcomer Rethen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bah, still hasn't worked - this is frustrating. Coming up with the same problem as before
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Step 3 to make sure the ROM isn't corrupting on the way to the MicroSD?
     
  5. Rethen
    OP

    Newcomer Rethen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It isn't just this one game, after I broke the R4i card by messing up the update etc, no games work anymore - even the games that were on the SD Card before the card had been broken no longer work either, I've also tried using a clean version over an AP Patched one and still to no avail - I'm checking the CRC now
     
  6. Rethen
    OP

    Newcomer Rethen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The clean version of my Pokemon Black matchs the DSi Enhanced (USA) but the Pokemon Black 2 doesn't not match or appear similar at all to the CRC listed in the database, which is an AP Patched version.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    A small change in a file will often make the CRC32 totally different, so the question is usually if it's different at all (as a different CRC32 means a different file/input).

    Try a non-AP patched one. Wood supports and expects clean ROMs when updated for the games.
     
  8. Rethen
    OP

    Newcomer Rethen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm doing another format to the MicroSDHC card with SDFormatter using the settings: Full Overwrite Format and Format Size Adjustment ON as opposed to Format Size Adjustment OFF and Quick format. Hoping it makes a different this time. I tried using a non-AP patched version of Pokemon Black and was given the same results, it's CRC32 matches that of the one on the database, I'm now also using a different usb adapter which is faster than the one I was previously using, hoping it transfers files better, one that came with my Kingston SD Card - I'll post results when finished
     
  9. Rethen
    OP

    Newcomer Rethen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't seem to have made a squat of difference still getting the same error appearing, could it just be my R4i Gold card failing?
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'd try re-updating it with the latest firmware update just in case.
     
  11. Rethen
    OP

    Newcomer Rethen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you get me some links to ones you'd recommend? Can't be too sure can I
    I'm using an R4i Gold from www.r4ids.cn
     
  12. 112345veronica

    Member 112345veronica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Ireland
    have you got another card and put the fix for 1.4.5 and 3ds 4.5 onto sd card put that card in to a ds lite and scroll down the screen to see it then press A take out that card and put r4ids.cn card in and let it update is a readme file inside the 3ds 4.5 and dsi 1.4.5 read it also
     
  13. Rethen
    OP

    Newcomer Rethen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've managed to update to v1.4.5 - but again same result, endless loading screen. /wrist
    Should I try and update the DSi itself to something past 1.4.3e?
     
  14. 112345veronica

    Member 112345veronica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Ireland
    try post an image of whats on your sd card and post a link here might just be a minor problem what icon appears on your r4i card in dsi without clicking on it
     

Share This Page