Having to re-hack a Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by GH0, Nov 15, 2010.

Nov 15, 2010

Having to re-hack a Wii by GH0 at 6:27 PM (963 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. GH0
    OP

    Member GH0 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    So, I should be getting my Wii back in two to three days roughly, from Nintendo, as I had some hardware failure (mainboard died) that completely screwed it up. Thankfully they couldn't do anything with it, so they didn't charge me the 200 or send it back to me at my cost.

    Anyways, I was wondering what is the easiest way about re-loading the HBC Channel onto the Wii? I will be using the Smash Stack exploit at any rate, as that is the only game I have that is capable of working with 4.3 (assuming that is what they will ship it back with).

    Should I go with modmii or with the full offline guide?

    Only reason why I ask, I never had to downgrade so, all this other stuff makes me a bit weary.
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Doesn't really matter all that much what guide you use.
    Either use one of the 2 stickied guides or the one in my sig.

    Just use the one you find the easiest [​IMG]
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    fyi, ModMii also works fully offline, so u don't need wifi on your Wii
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    So do most other guides. [​IMG]
     
  5. GH0
    OP

    Member GH0 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I ended up actually calling them, and asking what the problem was, and while they confirmed my suspicion that it was the Mainboard, they apparently replaced the DVD drive too (DVD didn't have any problem reading discs. It was the older model). Whether this was to completely stop the use of playing burned discs or not, I don't know, but for future reference to anyone that sends their stuff in. Heads up your DVD drive might get replaced.

    Alright, so, basically, will the biggest problem basically be the possibility of downgrading the System Menu? I mean, I don't expect there to be a huge problem, I mean, I got Twilight Hack to work correctly on 3.2, but, that was back then.
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Twilight Hack won't work on 4.3, but you won't need it as you'll be using Smash Stack instead.
    No need to downgrade the System menu, everything will work on 4.3.

    Follow one of the guides and you'll be fine.
     

Share This Page