Having problems with softmod.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Fathead666, Dec 27, 2009.

Dec 27, 2009
  1. Fathead666

Newcomer Fathead666 Member

Dec 17, 2009
    United States
    Sorry for the long post but any help is appreciated.

I just got my Wii yesterday. I'm still completely new to Wii modding but I've been reading A LOT. So far I've gotten a good basic understanding of how the Wii and softmods on it work, but I ran into a snag and can't find a clear answer.

If it matters, my Wii has an LU39 serial number and I'm pretty sure it has a D3 drive which means it will only play backups through USB. Also, it came out of the box as v3.4.

I got Homebrew Channel installed, Bootmii, and backed up my NAND. All of that went smoothly. At this point, the guides I've read say that the next step is to install the Trucha bug which is what I'm having a problem with.

The guides I've been using so far are "The Complete Softmod Guide" ( http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/ ). Since my Wii has no Internet connection I've been trying to install the trucha bug using the offline method.

The Complete Softmod Guide says this:

"Lets first get ourselves the Trucha patched IOS
    2. Run GP DOP-IOS MOD. Press A to continue to the next screen. Go down once to select "Install an IOS that accepts fakesigning". Press A to continue.
    When it asks what to do, choose "Download IOS from NUS". Since I'm offline, I chose "Load from SD card"

It will ask to patch IOS36. Again, press A and choose "Download IOS from NUS".
    One last time, it will ask to restore IOS15. You know what to do now [​IMG]

Installing the IOS required for your System menu. If you patch it, you can play wad files (Channels) from the SD card menu (4.0 and up)
    3. You will go to the main menu again. Change the IOS to IOS36 this time. and press A (while the cursor is on the first option). It will say it successfully loaded the IOS, so press A to continue.