Having problems with FCE Ultra :(

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Veloxi, Aug 8, 2008.

Aug 8, 2008
  1. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    I'm new to this scene, but so far I've understood Twilight Hack, how-to install/remove WAD's, snes9x emulators, etc. etc.

    Since all of this is fresh to me, I can't seem to understand why every version of FCE I get, it doesn't have an xml, a .png, or a .dol file like my snes9x version. I use snes9xGS 004 (I think that's correct..)

    Do I need to convert the FCE file to something else and create my own .png / .xml for use in the Homebrew channel? I've tried searching the forums, too... but most people are smarter than me and haven't had this problem [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    no. all you need is a elf or dol.
     
  3. icefox2

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    A .elf file will work just the same as a .dol file. Just take either one of those thats in the FCE download and put it on your SD card and it should work via the Twilight Hack or Homebrew Channel. Also the .png is just an image file for use in the Homebrew Channel and the .xml is a text file for the Homebrew Channel you don't actually need either but you can search online for an image and make your own .xml in notepad.
     
  4. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    Thanks, guys [​IMG]

    Now my only problem is... off the 20+ versions of FCE I've seen on various pages... which one to use o.O

    I guess this project will have to wait. LOL
     
  5. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    use FCE Ultra rev 23 test 2.
     
  6. icefox2

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  7. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    thats the latest official version. use rev 23 test 2, it has alot more features.
     
  8. icefox2

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ah, ok thanks never mind then.
     
  9. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    I'm amazed at the friendliness of this community.

    Just downloaded Ultra rev23 test 2 & test 3 for comparison. Thanks for the suggestions both of you!

    Thanks guys [​IMG]
     
  10. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    Wait, I worded that wrong. Rev 22 and Rev 23, didn't notice they had both. Using R23T2 [​IMG]
     
  11. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    there's rev 23 test 3? i did not know that, i guess i will update [​IMG]
     
  12. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    Oh, nope. Worded it wrong [​IMG]

    I didn't know they had a Rev22 and Rev23, I read it as "Rev22 Test 2" And "Rev23 Test 3"

    My mistake! From where I got my file, looks like Rev23T2 is still the newest. About to test it now. Thanks samsam [​IMG]
     
  13. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    Oh, samsam. This didn't come with any documentation... for SNES I had to make a folder in my root SD called "snes9x" and then 2 folders inside that called roms / saves.

    Is it the same thing for this?
     
  14. icefox2

    Newcomer icefox2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah it's the same thing.
     

Share This Page