1. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    So I purchased a Japanese PS Vita 1000 seems to work and behave just like a US PS Vita repaired it and all replaced the screen.

    Anyhow its currently on 1.69 firmware and trying to upgrade it to 3.60 via wireless and its just not working I have set the Primary DNS to the address required no secondary DNS etc etc. When I try to connect i get error OR saying the latest firmware available is 3.71. What am I doing wrong here?

    Error message nw-9735-4

    Upon checking it connects to wireless without the:

    1. Select “Advanced Settings”
    2. Set “DNS Settings” to “Manual”
    3. Set “Primary DNS” to 212.47.229.76
    4. Leave “Secondary DNS” blank
    5. Ensure “Proxy Server” is set to “Do Not Use”
    Will not work with DNS however.

    Its connected to wireless via the Manual DNS and I see the wireless signal on it.


    its a Wireless model only no 3G.

    Should i go ahead and try doing psupdatpup instead via a vita memory card? I cannot even install PS Vita assistant on my pc even though I know i installed the prerequisite MS software.
     
    Last edited by zincmann, Feb 11, 2020
  2. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Im stumped as I seem to be having network issues when using the DNS otherwise no other device on my network is struggling.
     
  3. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,222
    Country:
    United States
    Manually update to 3.60
     
  4. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States

    Ok thanks for the response a manual update CAN be done via vita memory card doing the folder PSUPDATE>PSUPDAT.bin or whatever it is?

    UPDATE: PS Vita wont let me use content manager assistant keeps pushing to update the system which I dont want to do so I keep the 3.60 upgrade in sight. Any suggestions?
     
    Last edited by zincmann, Feb 11, 2020
  5. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    So another quick update I have tried using the older PS3 Proxy Gui method with OCMA and no luck. Keeps telling me could not connect to server in the specified amount of time. Could it be because my unit came from japan that its not accepting the firmware? Should i be doing this with Japanese OFW? Thanks.

    So added pics showing I CAN connect to the actual update server via wireless

    The other two shows I try using the wireless method to get 3.60 and it fails showing "No wireless network"
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by zincmann, Feb 12, 2020
  6. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,834
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've experienced similar issues with trying to update with the DNS settings, and with QCMA not detecting my Vita (even though it had been previously connected). This was on a Euro console, so I don't think your issue is related to it being a Japanese system.
    I can't remember exactly what I did to get around the problem, but you might be better off just updating to whatever the latest official 'hackable' FW is and then downgrading. It will be a slightly longer process going from h-encore to henkaku, but at least you won't be tearing your hair out trying to figure out why one step of the procedure isn't working.
     
  7. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States

    Duwen thanks for the reply. The version is 3.73. I dont know if that is a good place to go or not?
     
  8. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,834
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anything between 3.65 and 3.73 is the same process. H-encore > Modoru - downgrade to 3.60 > Henkaku.
     
  9. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Duwen ok I guess I will give it a go thank you! My only concern is it says MOST homebrew is written to be compatible with 3.60. I do want to be able to play PS Vita backups i assume I will still be able to if i upgrade to 3.73?
     
    Last edited by zincmann, Feb 12, 2020
  10. pop13_13

    pop13_13 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Slovakia
    Use QCMA and set the version to 3.60.
     
  11. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I think I already tried that and got a cannot connect to server error as I showed pictured above. If you have a Tutorial that works please share as the ones I have followed, so far have not :-)
     
  12. duwen

    duwen Old Man Yoshi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,834
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Once you're on 3.73 follow https://vita.hacks.guide/get-started to get on to h-encore, then follow the section of the guide to downgrade using Modoru... you'll eventually end up on 3.60 with henkaku enso.
     
  13. pop13_13

    pop13_13 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Slovakia
    Are you using QCMA over WiFi?

    Try following http://wololo.net/2016/08/09/manually-update-ps-vita-firmware-3-60/, look for the old method using QCMA.

    If that doesen't help, then factory reset, update to lastest and downgrade using the vita.hacks.guide
     
  14. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I tried doing that and followed that document I was getting this message when I did try it. I reset the system several times as I had read and someone had suggested. Did not work. Sounds liker my only option would be what Duwen is suggesting? the ONLY time I would get my Vita to play nice is when I was connected to the wireless NOT pushing it through PS3 GUI or using the DNS redirect THEN and only then I would be able to get the update 3.73 which was coming from Sony server.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. pop13_13

    pop13_13 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Slovakia
    Now you will need to follow the vita.hacks.guide to downgrade to 3.60

    I never had this issue, and I hacked probably like 10 Vitas...
     
  16. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    So what Duwen has suggested then? I havent upgraded from 1.69 yet but will do it now that I feel like its the only option. I have hacked many a device and never experienced this issue but Duwen sounded like he had the same problem with an EU PSV
     
  17. pop13_13

    pop13_13 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Slovakia
    If you can't update it with QCMA then just update to latest and downgrade.

    But be warned that to downgrade from latest you will need to be able to use CMA on the Vita. After downgrading to 3.60 I suggest you to reset it, so it will remove the PSN account (which is required to use CMA).
     
  18. zincmann

    OP zincmann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Fair enough thanks for the valued advice
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - downloading, homebrew, Having