Having forum issues

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Rogue_Ninja, May 28, 2011.

May 28, 2011

Having forum issues by Rogue_Ninja at 11:51 PM (709 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Rogue_Ninja
    OP

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Having a couple issues first i can only type at the begining of the reply box. I can not quote someone and get the cursor under their quote. Matter of fact there is no cursor at all.
     
  2. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What OS and browser are you using?
     
  3. Rogue_Ninja
    OP

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    using windows xp but have not had this issue till today. I even try posting from my iphone and usually the keyboard comes up and now its not.
     
  4. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmmm.... weird. What exactly is it that isn't working? How can you type at the moment?
     
  5. Rogue_Ninja
    OP

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    (strange I can do everything as normal in private messages) When you click on the reply and the box comes up to type i can only type starting from the begining. And generally there is a cursor on the screen showing where your typing and thats gone. Say I quoted you I wouldnt be able to put the cursor under your quote and type there I can only type from the top. Also If I highlight the text and try using the delete button it does nothing. I can only delete using the backspace. Has to be something with my account cause Im on a differant cpu and its doing the same thing.
     
  6. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
  7. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ahh I see. Are you sure you haven't got 'Hide cursor while typing' enabled on your PCs?

    edit: nvm you said it happened on iphone as well... try what sausagehead said, record it using cam studio.
     
  8. Rogue_Ninja
    OP

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States

    Some issue with firefox cause now im in internet explorer and forum works just fine. I get the cursor and can type under quotes as usual. But that still doesnt explain my iphone issues.
     
  9. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what browser you using with your iphone?
     
  10. Rogue_Ninja
    OP

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States


    I believe its safari. Ive never had any issues posting from it before and the keyboard pops up for everything else.
     
  11. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's strange... sounds like something's happened on GBAtemp, does anyone know of any updates that have occurred that may have affected this?

    BTW, what version of Firefox were you using? I just tried v5 (Aurora) and i'm having no problems.
     
  12. Rogue_Ninja
    OP

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States

    Gonna update firefox now. Back to the iphone I can use fast reply just fine but not the full reply. Quite funky.



    ***edit*** updated to 4.0.1 and having the same issues.
     
  13. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    When adding a reply, please press the button that looks like the picture below once. It should toggle the edit mode for replies to the correct one.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Rogue_Ninja
    OP

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States

    Yay that worked. Thanks Minox. Everything works in firefox now.
     
  15. jjjewel

    Member jjjewel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,004
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using Firefox / Windows XP and got exactly the same problem as Rogue_Ninja. And this method really solved the problem. Thanks so much.
     

Share This Page