Have R4 but considering swap to Edge

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by notaclue, Jan 2, 2009.

Jan 2, 2009
  1. notaclue
    OP

    Newcomer notaclue Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please could you advise: -

    I am not very good at anything like R4 etc so easy to use is what I need... Please excuse my ignorance.

    I currently have a couple of R4 cards (one I have since found to be fake) I am thinking of swapping to Edge cards so have a few questions:

    Will my currently downloaded DS Roms that I use on my R4 card work on the Edge card?

    Does the Edge card work in a simple way as in 'drag and drop' files etc..

    Is there a good Uk site where I can get these from?

    thanks so much. Lisa
     
  2. moodswinger

    Member moodswinger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yes, your roms will work.

    Yes, you just need the FW and your roms then you're ready to go.
     
  3. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Just restating what moodswinger said: yeah, everything will work. Just download the firmware at their website here: http://www.edge-ds.cn/?lang=en, copy it to the root of your MicroSD, and then put all your games on it. Should work fine.

    Since I'm in the US I don't know of any good UK sites, so that will have to come from someone else.
     
  4. woof811

    Newcomer woof811 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon

    1) Yes your Roms will work
    2) Yes it is one of the most simplest cards that i have ever used
    3)Not sure try google [​IMG] Or look at the above posts [​IMG]
     
  6. Fusion

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Only problem with the EDGE team is be pre-paired for the firmware updates to break other games, i have never heard this from other teams but the latest firmware breaks Viva-Pinata (not sure what/if any others) so if this is a conceren for you as it was for me (yes i had an EDGE card & swapped it back at my local shop for a CycloDS) then maybe adding abit more money for some other top of the line card like M3DS-Real,Supercard DS1,CycloDS might be a better choice.

    CycloDS handles like an EDGE (since EDGE is a clone of Cyclo per se) you cant go wrong, but you get quick updates,good features,compatibility does'nt break games, similar menu system to R4.

    All in all Cyclo - top of the line. (sounds like a sales pitch [​IMG])
     
  7. notaclue
    OP

    Newcomer notaclue Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you very much everyone for all your replies - you are very helpfull and its very much appreciated.

    Lisa x
     
  8. magos

    Newcomer magos Newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I'm doing the same thing

    Will my R4 save files work on the EDGE?
     
  9. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Luckily yeah they will. You may have to rename them to the correct format though. Shouldn't be too hard.
     
  10. muka3d

    Newcomer muka3d Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    EDGE is a nice card, extremely to use, and virtually bug-free. Cyclo is great also, however because of it's abundance of extra features (most of which I don't consider essential, but are nice), it has more bugs and loads a bit slower than EDGE.

    As was mentioned, your save files will work on EDGE, check out the DS savegame converter site for evidence: http://www.shunyweb.info/convert.php
     
  11. TomMannCenturia

    Newcomer TomMannCenturia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Ireland
    I started with an R4, then got an Edge from dealextreme. The user interface is fairly similar to the R4, 3 boxes. 1 for NDS games, 1 for Moonshell, 1 for Slot 2. Fully skinnable.

    I actually prefer it to my ak2 as I can put the roms in alphabetical order!
     

Share This Page