Has your Wii ever locked up? Mine did last night.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sofakng, Jul 11, 2007.

  1. sofakng
    OP

    Newcomer sofakng Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Has your Wii ever locked up on you?

    Last night I had selected the Mii Channel and pressed [Start] but then my screen went black (as if the game/channel was loading), but nothing happened. The lights on the remotes turned off and no buttons on the remote would work. I had to hold down the power button on the Wii itself to turn it on/off. After that it seemed to work OK.

    Is this normal? Hopefully there is nothing wrong with my Wii...

    (NOTE: The Wii is in my basement and it was about 80 degrees so maybe heat had something to do with it, but my component cabinet does have exhaust fans...)
     
  2. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    Mine locked up twice so far. Once when I wanted to quit Opera and the other time I don't remember what I've done. [​IMG]

    I had to unplug the power chord to get it to restart, both times.
     
  3. liquiddream

    Newcomer liquiddream Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Egypt
    happened to me too i had to unplug the power cord as takeshi did too
     
  4. Neko

    Member Neko Been a while.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    #gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    My wii locked up twice ingame.
    My Brother was playing Red Steel. (also known as red shit)
    But I heard it's because of the game. [​IMG]
     
  5. sofakng
    OP

    Newcomer sofakng Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I'm glad to know it's normal... but that's not cool. I guess it's expected though... almost every electronic device locks up every once and a while...
     
  6. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only game its frozen on is Excite truck. It only happened the once. Sometimes when the disc doesn't show up in the channel, it will freeze. Its just a shame the wii doesn't have a proper on/off switch so you don't have to unplug the console.
     
  7. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Just holding the Power button for a few seconds is the same as unplugging, so...
     
  8. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    The only time my Wii has locked up is during updates. And even then it probably didn't literally lock up but was just stuck at the screen.
     
  9. aligborat69

    Member aligborat69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Lockups are mostly heat-related from the sounds of it, just make sure its in a well vented area or get one of the fan-installed base units.

    Had my wii since launch, installed the wiikey myself when it was released and not had any problems with anything, not even disc read errors.

    My friend had a few complaints about disc read errors, but turned out the discs i gave him were covered in fingerprints and light scratches, i told him to keep them and i burnt my ones again!

    I know how to handle my disks, why people hold cds/dvds and touch the read surface i wont ever understand! LOL

    If a crash was caused by going into a program and exiting and gets stuff, future updates might address it, but ive wizzed around my menu and in and out of programs/downloaded content and never had a crash or lock up :-)
     
  10. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    Depends on what is considered a lock-up.

    Mine regularily stops responding when trying to connect to the shop channel, I still don't know if this is a local wlan or Nintendo shop problem. I will know soon, when I connect it by USB Lan, and I am already afraid nothing will get better, because maybe the shop just sucks [​IMG].
     

Share This Page