Has your MicroSD gotten "used up"?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by XtremeResident, Oct 27, 2007.

Oct 27, 2007
  1. XtremeResident
    OP

    Member XtremeResident GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    By used up i mean always inserting/removing it from the R4 and into the USB reader...

    Did any of you experience the fact that the MicroSD sometimes loses contact inside the R4, thus freezing games?
     
  2. Jhongerkong

    Member Jhongerkong GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    Country:
    Canada
    This has happened to me alot. The game freezes is I put it in sleep mode or if I move the ds around even a little bit; on an actual game, I could drop the ds and it would still work.
     
  3. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    I used to have problems on the old shell. using the new shell, I have none of that *losing connection* deal.
     
  4. XtremeResident
    OP

    Member XtremeResident GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    i bought mine a week ago...so im hoping its the new shell...how can you tell?

    Jhongerkong: come again?
     
  5. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    If it's a new shell, it doesn't have a spring.
     
  6. mike1984

    Member mike1984 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey partner in crime [​IMG] the one we got is not the second generation, and yes, i've had that problem too with the disconnection. If you don't touch the cartridge though, it shouldn't happen.
     
  7. XtremeResident
    OP

    Member XtremeResident GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    lol whats up susu

    well apparently the pervious shell the R4's came in were spring loaded...not sure if that made a difference or not...

    but anyway this is my only concern about the R4...

    Anybody else?
     
  8. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    My connection's fine. Except when I move the SC back and forth in the R4. Then I freeze it.
     
  9. lostsoulktash

    Newcomer lostsoulktash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I've had these happen a couple of times on games and homebrews...doesn't really matter to me i just reset. But I just ordered another R4 from DX...so hopefully I get the new shell without spring...
     
  10. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    It's happened to me, I think, 4 times total. Two of the time were when I touched the micro sd. The third was coming out of sleep mode. The fourth was randomly during homebrew (DSOrganize). I also experieced a time when my computer couldn't read the card when inserted into the USB reader. (I hate the one it came with).
     

Share This Page