1. Rune

    OP Rune GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    So a bit of background info on what I'm talking about. AM2R (which is the fan made remake of Metroid 2) was built using GameMaker Studio. Up until recently, we didn't have an Android port so people had to take a port of another GameMaker Studio game (Undertale) and replace the data files to get AM2R working on Android devices. Basically the same concept as LayeredFS.

    So fast forward to today, there's a Switch port of Undertale out, and someone has been able to use LayeredFS to replace Undertale with another game called Downwell (another project created with GameMaker Studio). The process was exactly the same. Just switch the data files (which share the same file names) and voila, everything works (except in handheld mode only). Which leads me to wonder if AM2R could work in the same way.
    It will require someone to install the Undertale NSP, then use LayeredFS to "mod" the game with the AM2R files.

    I'd more then gladly try it myself but I don't have Undertale or have LayeredFS working on my ReiNX CFW. Is anyone else here able to and willing to try this out?
     
    Tony_93, Freezerbomb and Mnecraft368 like this.
  2. TheZander

    TheZander King of the Level 7's
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,041
    Country:
    United States
    And the controls just work in that down fell game?
     
  3. Rune

    OP Rune GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    In handheld mode, yeah. Not while its docked or with wireless controllers though.
     
  4. Chocolate28

    Chocolate28 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm the guy who pulled off the exploit in the first place and i'm willing to try it out later today. Thank you for the idea, will keep this thread updated.
     
  5. TheZander

    TheZander King of the Level 7's
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,041
    Country:
    United States
    And to try this all you have to do is install amr2 on pc find some data file and put it in a layeredfs folder for undertale?
     
  6. Rune

    OP Rune GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    Nice. Fingers crossed, it would be cool to see it running on the Switch.
     
    Mnecraft368 likes this.
  7. TheZander

    TheZander King of the Level 7's
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,041
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it, nothing happened. I put all the files in a folder with the title id name
     
  8. SANIC

    SANIC GBATemp's Sonic Fan in Residence, 後
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1,586
    Country:
    United States
    Undertale is on android? You sure?
     
  9. Chocolate28

    Chocolate28 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Canada
    He means the exploit that people used to get gms games running on android. It worked with undertale and am2r, so they theorize it should work on the switch ver of undertale as well.
     
  10. SANIC

    SANIC GBATemp's Sonic Fan in Residence, 後
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1,586
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I got confused. OP says that Undertale was replaced by AM2R, not that both of them were replacing the other game.
     
  11. Rune

    OP Rune GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    I assumed Undertale was on Android as that was what AM2R replaced to get it working. I guess I was wrong. Undertale itself was hack job.
     
  12. T-hug

    T-hug Always like this.
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    10,579
    Hope you guys can pull this off!
     
  13. robinpup

    robinpup Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    Mexico
    can i play SSF2 with this?
     
  14. SANIC

    SANIC GBATemp's Sonic Fan in Residence, 後
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1,586
    Country:
    United States
    That is made in Flash, not game maker. Simple logic.
     
  15. Rune

    OP Rune GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
  16. Bigjokker

    Bigjokker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    There is a AM2R NSP out there I helped @PiracyForTheMasses make. Works fine but does not save.
     
    Rune and Memoir like this.
  17. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,640
    Country:
    Mexico
    What version of AM2R does the NSP have?
     
  18. Bigjokker

    Bigjokker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    I think 1.3.1. As the newer one did not work.

    *Update - Got home an took a look it's 1.1
     
    Last edited by Bigjokker, Oct 17, 2018
    ShadowOne333 likes this.
  19. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,640
    Country:
    Mexico
    Still quite a recent one.
    Thanks for the info!
     
  20. Rune
    This message by Rune has been removed from public view by Joe88, Nov 3, 2018, Reason: Not allowed.
    Oct 17, 2018
  21. Perfect One

    Perfect One GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    Brazil
    I was going to PM you on how i and others can help you on that.

    So, you'll have to PM me and i'll show you the details.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - willing, anyone, Switch