?
  1. Yes.

    4 vote(s)
    44.4%
  2. No.

    5 vote(s)
    55.6%
  3. 9 voter(s)
  1. Brayton1-7

    OP Brayton1-7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone managed to use the USB slot for homebrew loading? My SD slot isn't working, so I was just curious. I added the poll in case you don't want to reply.
     
    Last edited by Brayton1-7, Jul 4, 2020
  2. lieder1987

    lieder1987 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I am pretty sure only SXOS has the option to use the USB port and only to play XCIs or install games.
     
    Brayton1-7 likes this.
  3. Brayton1-7

    OP Brayton1-7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, that isn't much use to me, since I won't do any piracy, but thank you!
     
  4. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Country:
    Portugal
    How did you manage to fornicate your SD Card slot? Maybe some of the wiser mammals around here might be able to help you in fixing your SD Card slot.
     
  5. Brayton1-7

    OP Brayton1-7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea, it just occasionally says it cannot access the slot and crashes.
     
  6. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Country:
    Portugal
    Maybe solder pads need a bit of solder?
     
  7. Brayton1-7

    OP Brayton1-7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Huh. I can't solder, like, at all. I can maybe reseat it, but that's it.
     
  8. ricdee

    ricdee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    The SD card slot is held in with one screw and its modular meaning it plugs in to the motherboard with a ribbon cable with a press in block on the end and is easily changed. I have 2 switches on the operating table at the moment that need a new battery terminal and the other a new charge port both if which need soldering
     
    Last edited by ricdee, Jul 4, 2020
  9. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Country:
    Portugal
    Thank you, friendly mammal. I was unaware that it is a flat cable that connects the SD Card slot to the motherboard.

    Maybe it is loose, then?
     
  10. Brayton1-7

    OP Brayton1-7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    So, should I try pushing it in a bit?
     
  11. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Country:
    Portugal
    No, you might break the thing, the best for you would open up the console and check if the flat cable is badly positioned and reseat it.
    Has the console been dropped at least once?
     
  12. Mythical

    Mythical GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,854
    Country:
    United States
    that isn't piracy unless you pirate the files? You can legally dump, and use your own files with pretty much allcfw
     
  13. GothicIII

    GothicIII GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Without beeing able to use the sd slot he can't load sxos anyway.
    Any payload I know of which loads CFW requires files on sd card.
     
    bad361 likes this.
  14. Brayton1-7

    OP Brayton1-7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I don't recall having ever dropped it, but maybe by someone else? The Joy-Cons also sometimes say they're disconnected when they're in the rails.
     
  15. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oh, you got it used? So it *might* have had a few meetings with gravity.
    I would open up theconsole and check if the cabling is seated properly. If you are a competent tinkerer (I am not), you can go the extra mile and recheck most connections searching for something out of place.

    The best you can get is an improvement in usability?
     
  16. Brayton1-7

    OP Brayton1-7 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I did not get it used, I meant that someone I let use it might have and not told me. I really don't want to do this myself. If I send it to Nintendo to be repaired, will they remove the exploit? I'd like to keep the hackability of my Switch, but I also want to... not open it up myself.
     
  17. annson24

    annson24 The Patient One
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,162
    Country:
    Philippines
    The sdcard slot can be easily replaced, you literally just need to remove the back cover and you can already access it. In your case, you can just check if it's a bit loose and just put a little pressure in the connector to fix it. If it still doesn't work you might need to replace the whole sdcard slot.

    Here's a video I found on how to remove it:

    Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk
     
  18. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    726
    Country:
    Russia
    If your sd card slot is not working, you won't be able to launch any CFW anyway, what's the point of your question then.
     
  19. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Country:
    Portugal
    They will replace the motherboard, that's for sure.
     
  20. fvig2001

    fvig2001 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    Some say the connector on the motherboard is not designed well that pushing on the SD card wears it down. It's my fear since I tend to swap between SD cards.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - homebrew, managed, loading